Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band Depressed Mode announce new EP »Words Of Death«; new re-recorded version of »Suffer In Darkness« out now!

Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band Depressed Mode will release their new EP »Words Of Death« in 2023 via Inverse Records.

Watch a lyrics video for new re-recorded version of »Suffer In Darkness«! This is the first single from the upcoming »Words Of Death« EP, available now on all major streaming services.

01. Suffer In Darkness
02. Dead & Living
03. Tunnel Of Pain
04. Words Of Silence
05. She’s Frozen

Recorded, mixed and mastered at Ansa Studio Ulvila, Finland.

Courtesy of Inverse Records:

Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band Depressed Mode is set to release a new EP »Words Of Death« later in 2023 via Inverse Records. The first single »Suffer In Darkness« is a re-recorded version from »Ghost Of Devotion« album (Firedoom Music, 2007). Female vocals is this time sung by Gogo Melone (Aeonian Sorrow, Clouds).

Watch »Suffer In Darkness« lyrics video on YouTube!

Otto Salonen comments: “»Suffer In Darkness« was one of the first ever tracks for Depressed Mode. It was something that created the sound for the band, and I’ve been trying to recreate the atmosphere ever since. That’s one of the reasons we’ve decided to re-record this song, and because I always felt like the song ain’t complete with its orchestrations. Now I had the time and tools to create the atmosphere once again, and it’s now enhanced. We once again hired our former drummer Marko Tommila to create drums for the whole EP, and this was the first song re-recorded.”

Listen to »Suffer In Darkness« single on streaming services!


Depressed Mode was established in 2005 by composer Otto Salonen. Signed a contract with Firebox Records for two albums in 2006. First album »Ghosts Of Devotion« was released in 2007, and received really good reviews throughout the media. The second album »..For Death« released in 2009, was a success, and a step towards more symphonic death/doom metal, with great reviews as well.

Otto Salonen begun composing DM’s third album in January 2020. The lineup for the new album consists of Otto Salonen, Teemu Heinola, Henri Hakala and Iiro Aittokoski. Veronica Bordacchini from Fleshgod Apocalypse took over the female vocals for the third album.

The album was recorded and mixed at Ansa Studio by Teemu Heinola and Otto Salonen during 2021.

In autumn 2021 Depressed Mode signed a deal with Inverse Records for the third album titled »Decade Of Silence«. The album was mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios Helsinki. Long-awaited album was released on May 6th, 2022.

New EP »Words Of Death« is set to be released later in 2023 via Inverse Records.

Order »Decade Of Silence« CD on Bandcamp. Listen to »Decade Of Silence« album on streaming services!

Otto Salonen – Vocals and Orchestrations
Gogo Melone – Vocals
Teemu Heinola – Guitars
Henri Hakala – Bass
Marko Tommila – Drums
Jarkko Kokko – Solo Guitars on »Tunnel Of Pain«

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.