Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

German atmospheric death/doom metal band Owl released a compilation album »Grid Shimmer« via Zeitgeister and Total Dissonance Worship

German atmospheric death/doom metal band Owl has just released a compilation album »Grid Shimmer« on September 20th, 2022 via Zeitgeister and Total Dissonance Worship on cassette/digital.

Says the band: “New tape release! Two new songs (»Liquid Spirit and »You Are The Only One«) plus »Aeon Cult« and »Orion Fenix« available via Total Dissonance Worship.”

01. Liquid Spirit
02. You Are The Only One
03. The Abyss
04. Ravage
05. Mollusk Prince
06. Orion Fenix

Courtesy of Total Dissonance Worship:

It’s been a bit quiet around Owl since the relentless »Crystal Delirium« EP and epic »Cloud Head« single, but that’s just the quiet before the storm…

Before moving forward and revealing any new material, we wanted to conclude our favorite chapter of Christian Kolf’s heaviest project yet; with the physical release of »Grid Shimmer«.

It compiles the most crushing material Owl has released in the last decade: The infamous »Aeon Cult« EP and the mammoth »Orion Fenix«, as well as two unreleased tracks from the sessions with Auré Pereira at the production helm.

This material is, without a shadow of a doubt, an overlooked pinnacle of contemporary metal. These songs are as monumental as they are emotive and we couldn’t move on without finally bringing them into the physical realm.

Get your copy here:

Music by Christian Kolf, except »Liquid Spirit«, music by Auré Pereira and Christian Kolf. Lyrics by Christian Kolf, except »The Abyss«, »Ravage« and »Mollusk Prince«, lyrics by Thomas Hansen.

Drum programming by Auré Pereira, except »You Are The Only One«, drum programming by Eeli Helin.

Vocals, guitars, bass and synthesizer by Christian Kolf, except »Liquid Spirit«, guitars and bass by Auré Pereira.

Mixed and mastered by Auré Pereira at Flatcurve Studio.

»Liquid Spirit« written, recorded and mixed June 2016 – February 2022. »The Abyss«, »Ravage« and »Mollusk Prince« written, recorded and mixed March 2015 – April 2015. »Orion Fenix« written, recorded and mixed December 2017 – January 2018. »You Are The Only One« written, recorded and mixed February 2021 – October 2021.

Owl is:
Christian Kolf – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keyboards
Patrick Schroeder – Drums, Percussion

For fans of Triptykon, Godflesh, Meshuggah

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.