Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

German instrumental post-rock trio OK Wait unveils new single and music video »Horses«; »Signal« full-length to see release June 30 via Golden Antenna Records

Hamburg, Germany based instrumental post-rock trio OK Wait has unveiled new single and music video »Horses« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »Signal«, set to release on June 30th, 2023 via Golden Antenna Records.

01. Escape
02. Letter
03. Damage
04. Return
05. Horses
06. Switch
07. Sirens
08. Mantra
09. Deja Vu

Courtesy of Push Media Promotion:

OK WAIT – The Hamburg instrumental post-rock unveils new single & video »Horses«; »Signal« full-length to see release June 30 via Golden Antenna Records.

Stream the new single via Spotify, Tidal, iTunes etc. HERE!

“It’s dark and weighty, but always carries a tune with discernable melodies and locomotive rhythms like a slow-motion gallop, far from the unhinged approach many bands that lean on the heavier side of the sonic spectrum employ.” — Everything Is Noise

The band comments: “Using scenes from old films in the public domain and dialogue created by ChatGPT, the video for the song »Horses« creates the feeling of unease that is sure to set in for any sensible and sensitive person considering the world. In a surreal pastiche of impressions, only a suggestion of plot is made, while the impression of fatal events is obvious – just like watching the news today. The music, while often noisy and dissonant, has a vivid rhythm that can be held onto as a bit of hopeful resistance. Maybe the end is not inevitable? Scenes used from the films »The Hitch-Hiker« (1953), »Duck And Cover« (1952), »Men And Dust« (1940), »The Brain That Wouldn’t Die« (1962) and »Coil Winding Section E« from the »Westinghouse Works« (1904). Dialogue prompt for ChatGPT was “Write a dialogue of two people in a car in an absurd, surreal style that has some disturbing foreboding in it. The world is about to end. One of the characters does not know what horses are.”

OK WAIT, a Hamburg-based trio, is an experimental instrumental band that creates a unique blend of music that defies genre boundaries. With their latest album »Signal« (release 30 June ’23), the band takes their sound to new heights, incorporating elements of noise rock, shoegaze, doom, and black metal to create an intense and emotional listening experience.

»Signal« is a departure from traditional post-rock, with the band experimenting with a raw and abrasive sound that is both beautiful and terrifying. With the help of acclaimed producer Peter Voigtmann (The Ocean, ex-Heads.), mixing by Scott Evans (Kowloon Walled City) and mastering by Magnus Lindberg (Cult Of Luna), the album‘s sound is expertly crafted and expertly executed.

The album features nine diverse tracks that showcase the band‘s dynamic range and versatility. Each song is a journey in itself, with complex arrangements and intricate melodies that keep the listener engaged from start to finish. The band‘s commitment to pushing the boundaries of instrumental music is evident in every note, and »Signal« is a testament to their dedication to creating something truly unique.

For fans of Russian Circles, Deafheaven and Swans, OK WAIT is a band to watch. Their latest album is a tour de force of instrumental music that showcases their talent, creativity, and passion. With its release on Golden Antenna Records, »Signal« is sure to make waves in the music world and establish OK WAIT as one of the most exciting and innovative instrumental bands today.

“Almost every track ultilizes a wide range of both sudden yet subtle changes in dynamics that hooks on to your attention from start to finish. If you’re a fan of delay soaked guitars, layered atmospheric walls of sounds and excellent production values, OK WAIT is going to be your new favourite.” — WherePostRockDwells

Pre-order »Signal« HERE!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.