Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

God Is An Astronaut unveil new album details and premiere a music video for the first single »Burial«

Irish post-rock masters God Is An Astronaut premiere a music video for the first single »Burial« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »Ghost Tapes #10«, set to release on February 12th, 2021 via Napalm Records.

01. Adrift
02. Burial
03. In Flux
04. Spectres
05. Fade
06. Barren Trees
07. Luminous Waves

God Is An Astronaut’s journey began in 2002 and made them explore new powerfully-atmospheric areas between post and progressive metal with every release. The music by the band from Ireland is highly influenced by real-life tragedies and true emotions. Every song comes with such stylish and rich musical textures that it becomes an adventure for the listener.

God Is An Astronaut is:
Torsten Kinsella – Guitar, Keyboards
Niels Kinsella – Bass, Visuals
Lloyd Hanney – Drums
Jamie Dean – Keyboards, Synthesiser, Guitar

An ethereal post-rock experience to dive into infinite atmospheres! Reigning as one of the most well-known and highly critically acclaimed experimental instrumental groups out there with a respected musical legacy spanning nearly 20 years, Irish four-piece God Is An Astronaut will reach a career benchmark upon the release of their 10th studio album, »Ghost Tapes #10«.

Along with an artful black and white music video by Chariot Of Black Moth, the hypnotizing first offering »Burial« captivates with atmospheric yet melancholic, bewitching instrumental lines, and God Is An Astronaut’s full extent of power. The seven-minute piece showcases the band’s unique ability to explore plaintive wistfulness and shuddering riffs, forming a perfect storm whilst also creating intense sonic-spheres that are second to none.

»Ghost Tapes #10« is certainly the most ferocious God Is An Astronaut full-length to date – it still retains all the rich musical and emotive elements the band is known for by wheeling around luminance, but offering its harsh and deep reminiscences as well. Works of art like »Burial«, »In Flux« and »Barren Trees«, with additional guitars by Jimmy Scanlan, amongst others are proof of these creations of sound. The album’s closer, the atmospheric »Luminous Waves«, captivates in a trance-like mindset – putting one deeply in touch with their inner self, drifting away to stirring tunes of guest cello virtuoso Jo Quail.

The artwork was illustrated by David Rooney, who has worked with the band in the past, and plays into the sense of the foreboding and uncertain times we live in. »Ghost Tapes #10« will be available as a four-page digipack as well as in multiple limited LP options.

»Ghost Tapes #10« is available in the following formats:
• LP Gatefold Vinyl Gold (limited to 300 copies)
• LP Gatefold Vinyl Deluxe Splatter White/Gold/Black + Brush Print Album Cover Metal Plate, Slipmat (strictly limited to 100 copies)
• LP Gatefold Vinyl Splatter White/Gold/Black (limited to 300 copies)
• Four-page CD Digipak
• Bundle – LP Gatefold Vinyl Black + Shirt
• Bundle – 1- CD Digipak + Shirt
• Digital Album
• Digital Album – High Res.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.