Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Gravehuffer’s new album ».​.​.​Depart From So Much Evil« now available on colour vinyl through Black Doomba Records!

Joplin, Missouri based thrash/punk/crust/sludge outfit Gravehuffer has released their fourth full-length ».​.​.​Depart From So Much Evil« on February 17th, 2023 via Black Doomba Records. The new album is now finally available on colour vinyl in three different variants!

01. Blueprint For An Early Grave
02. Slayberry
03. The Cryptid And The Iron Bird
04. Brainstorm
05. Go Murder, Pray, And Die
06. Depart From So Much Evil

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

Enter dark comedic realms through Gravehuffer’s new album »Depart From So Much Evil«. The heavy quartet deliver an other-worldly amalgamation of punk, metal, grindcore, and unapologetic down-tuned sludge-laden doom.

Comprised of hellish tracks risen from the depths below – each written by a different member, Gravehuffer entice you in before reaching the epic composition that is »Depart From So Much Evil«. The album opens with »Blueprint For An Early Grave«, a track about living only to work and ultimately destroying oneself in the process. Ferocious distortion and overdrive produces an unrelenting huge impact. Gravehuffer hold nothing back by unleashing their explosive sound from the off. »Brainstorm« delves into another side of the quartet’s sound with a more melodic focus making use of more mid and higher tones across the instrumentation. It contrasts with the emotive subject matter of battling depression and attempting to find peace with it. These dynamic tracks lead up to the album’s pièce de résistance, »Depart From So Much Evil«. This 22 minute song is written about Dante’s »The Divine Comedy«. Journeying through nightmarish realms, orchestration, wailing guitars, and thundering heaviness manifest a haunting encounter with monsters and demons.

About Gravehuffer:
Gravehuffer formed in 2008 in Joplin, Missouri, with members having been involved in the heavy scene since the ’90s. Growing from their early crust punk roots, the band has evolved its sound to manifest more intricate and intense elements across their music.

»Depart From So Much Evil« available as deluxe 12″ version on Inferno Red Splatter, Purgatory Black, or Paradise Purple vinyl.

You can also order a bundle of all 3 variants of the new album on vinyl, plus the CD version:
• 1 Digipack CD version of the album
• 1 signed poster of the back cover art
• 6 posters w/ art inspired by the album
• 2 Gravehuffer stickers (logo & song art)
• 1 Gravehuffer guitar pick w/ Paradise art

Get your copy here:

Travis McKenzie – Vocals
Mike Jilge – Bass
Ritchie Randall – guitars
Todd Morrison – Drums (Tracks 1 – 5) Vocals (Track 2 chorus)
Luke Randolph – Drums (Track 6) Vocals (Bridge section »Paradise«)

All music and lyrics by Gravehuffer.
Except »Go Murder, Pray, And Die« by Encrusted; lyrics by Caleb Pruitt.
Recorded, mixed and produced by Mike Jilge and Gravehuffer at Silesian Son Studio 2021-2022.
Mastered by Garry Moore.
Front and back cover art by Eric Sweet.
Back cover photos: Travis & Mike – Red Feather.
Photography: Todd – Ritchie Randall, Luke – Show Bites, Ritchie – Ethan Knapps.

Guest credits in order of appearance:
Carlos Ransom – Vocals (»Blueprint«, »Go Murder, Pray, And Die«)

»Depart From So Much Evil« song guests:
Annie Brown – Cello (»Inferno«)
Doug Dicharry – Tuba, Trombone (»Inferno«, »Paradise«)
Tony Angelopoulos – Guitar Orchestration (»Inferno, »Paradise«)
Eric Sweet – All Narration
Kam Lee – Vocals (»Inferno«)
Curran Murphy – Guitar Solo (»Inferno«)
Tommy Stewart – Bass (»Purgatory«)
Dennis Reid – Percussion (»Purgatory«)

Special thanks to all the Gravehuffer friends and family that sent in their screams for »Purgatory«!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “Gravehuffer’s new album ».​.​.​Depart From So Much Evil« now available on colour vinyl through Black Doomba Records!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.