Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Howling Giant unveil a cover of AC/DC classic »Shoot To Thrill« featuring Udo Dirkschneider and Peter Baltes

Nashville, Tennessee based heavy rockers Howling Giant unveil a cover of AC/DC classic »Shoot To Thrill« featuring singer Udo Dirkschneider (ex-Accept, U.D.O.) and bassist Peter Baltes (ex-Accept) as special guests.

The track is taken from the upcoming tribute album, »Back In Black [Redux]«, set to release on December 3rd, 2021 via Magnetic Eye Records.

Bassist and vocalist Sebastian Baltes, the son of bassist Peter Baltes, comments: “I’ve loved »Shoot To Thrill« and AC/DC since the first time I heard this track when I was eight. This great classic is all about the sound of these Australian giants. The fact that we could arrange our own version while also working with my father and Udo was a wonderful opportunity that closed the circle.”

Peter Baltes adds: “AC/DC was the soundtrack of my life. A few years ago we played as the opening band at two huge AC/DC shows in Germany, which for me was one of the greatest experiences of all time.”

From Magnetic Eye Records:

»Back In Black [Redux]« presents new takes on all ten cuts from AC/DC’s seminal seventh album. This was the first record to feature “new” singer Brian Johnson following the death of original larger-than-life frontman Bon Scott, and music historians agree that there was massive pressure on both the new singer and the band to deliver. Even so, nobody could have anticipated that they’d create one of the most important rock albums ever, and Magnetic Eye cannot wait to present what many favorites from the stoner, doom, and riff-rock scene have done with some of the most iconic rock songs of all time.

Alongside »Back In Black [Redux]«, Magnetic Eye Records publishes a by now traditional companion album containing even more amazing cover versions under the title »Best of AC/DC«. This 2-LP extravaganza features 13 bands offering their exciting renditions of all-time classics and deep cuts from across the AC/DC catalog. Fielding an array of heavyweights and hungry up-and-comers from the heavy rock underground, there should be no doubt that fans of the riff-heavy will be stoked to experience these massive AC/DC interpretations unlike any that they’ve heard before.

The Magnetic Eye [Redux] Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal, re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish by bands we love. Choice artists from throughout the rock and metal world are tasked to select a track to make their own, translating a milestone record into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, Magnetic Eye Records have published [Redux] versions of Pink Floyd’s »The Wall«, Helmet’s »Meantime«, Black Sabbath’s »Vol. 4«, Hendrix’s »Electric Ladyland«, and Alice In Chains’ »Dirt«, which have included artists like Matt Pike, Pallbearer, The Melvins, All Them Witches, Khemmis, ASG, Zakk Wylde, Mark Lanegan, Scott Reeder, and many more mind-blowing artists.

Join a host of heavy rocking bands on the sixth foray into Redux territory as they pay due respect to the giant musical legend from Down Under!

01. Red Fang – Hells Bells
02. Howling Giant feat. Udo Dirkschneider – Shoot To Thrill
03. Supersuckers – What Do You Do For Money Honey
04. Smoking Lightning – Givin The Dog A Bone
05. Heavy Temple feat. Valient Himself – Let Me Put My Love Into You
06. Besvärjelsen – Back In Black
07. Jakethehawk feat. Patrick Waters – You Shook Me All Night Long
08. Whores. feat. Bill Kelliher – Have A Drink On Me
09. Early Man – Shake A Leg
10. Earthride – Rock And Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.