Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

In Aevum Agere to release their third full-length album »Emperor Of Hell – Canto XXXIV« this Friday via Metal On Metal Records

Italian epic doom metal duo In Aevum Agere will release their third full-length album »Emperor Of Hell – Canto XXXIV« this Friday, November 19th, 2021 via Metal On Metal Records.

01. Emperor Of Hell
02. Intro
03. The City Of Dis
04. Malebolge
05. In Phlegethon
06. Chiron
07. Sorrowful Goodbye
08. Allegorical Images (Universal Destiny)
09. The Straight Path Was Lost

Listen to new tracks »Emperor Of Hell«, »Sorrowful Goodbye« and »The Straight Path Was Lost« below!

From Metal On Metal Records:

Two and a half years after their last album, In Aevum Agere’s third full-length sees the light of day. »Emperor Of Hell – Canto XXXIV«, like its predecessor, is inspired by and lyrically based on Dante’s “Divina Commedia”, not surprisingly again the “Inferno” part of this opus, which offers a wealth of grim and allegorical imagery. The horror of death and hell is almost palpable here. The album is full of sophisticated melodies, doom-laden heavy and powerful riffs, desperate sounding, soulful vocals, with a few dramatic narrations, and you will find both melancholy and aggression in these songs. It’s as epic as it gets, but what sets these Italians apart from other epic doom and in general doom metal bands is the intense guitar shredding, as well as the riffing and the powerhouse double bass drumming that sometimes sound almost like thrash metal. If you’re into bands like Candlemass, Solitude Aeturnus, Sorcerer, Memento Mori, Forsaken, Evangelist, Thuderstorm, Procession and Crypt Sermon, do not hesitate to check this album out!

Order your copy here:

In Aevum Agere was created in 2004 in Naples, Italy, by the guitarist and vocalist Bruno Masulli, known from his other bands, Annihilationmancer (thrash metal) and Power Beyond (power metal). The new project was started so that Bruno could express his passion also for classic doom metal metal, inspired by bands like Candlemass and Solitude Aeturnus. For the next few years, the line-up consisted of only live musicians and studio musicians.

In 2007, the first demo »From The Depth Of Soul« was released and received many positive reviews in several European countries, as well as in America, including being chosen as the demo of the month in German Heavy and Rock Hard magazines. The title song of the demo was chosen to be included on the »Metal Crusade Vol. XVI« compilation CD, published by Heavy magazine in 2008.

On January 31st 2009, In Aevum Agere played at the first edition of Hammer Of Doom Festival in Würzburg, Germany, together with Dark Quarterer, Isole, Ereb Altor, Seamount and The Devil’s Blood. The same year a new 3-song single »Labyrinth Of Emptiness« was released.

2011 saw the release of »MMXI« EP which was a promo CD for the then upcoming full-length.

In September 2012, In Aevum Agere signed with Pure Steel Records who released the album »The Shadow Tower« in December of the same year.

In September 2013, the band was played at Swordbrothers XII festival in Andernach, Germany, together with Morgana Lefay, Shadowkeep, Rebellion, Blitzkrieg and other bands.

In 2014, »Limbus Animae« EP was released on vinyl by Pure Steel Records.

2014 was a very good year for In Aevum Agere, who were invited to play at several European festivals. It started in January with Play It Doom in Brescia, Italy, where they shared the stage with Solstice, Dark Quarterer, Black Oath, Epitaph, Crimson Dawn, Midryasi… In March, they went to Athens, Greece, to perform at Up the Hammers with Blaze, Liege Lord, Paragon, Xentrix and many others. In October, they played at Malta Doom Metal VI, sharing stage with Manilla Road, Forsaken, Desolation Angels, Officium Triste, Outrage among others. In November, they participated in Doom Over Vienna IX, together with Dark Quarterer, Procession, Caronte, Reino Ermitano…

In 2016, In Aevum Agere self-released new EP »Fugit In Solitudine« (named the best independent release of the month in Rock Hard Mangazine, Italy) and announced their new permanent drummer Claudio Del Monaco, who joined Bruno and Piersabato Gambino (bass player since 2013).

In September 2017, they had the chance to share the stage with the genre’s forefahers, Candlemass at Doom Over Rome Festival. Other smaller shows followed, including a gig in February 2018 in Vienna together with the local thrashers Wildhunt.

Between 2017 and 2018, In Aevum Agere recorded a new single »Gaudens In Domino« as well as their second album entitled »Canto III«.

The band had been in contact with Metal On Metal Records for some years, and finally in March 2019 they started the co-operation. »Canto III« is based on Dante’s “Divine Comedy”, in particular on its Inferno part. It saw the light of day in May 2019.

In June the same year, In Aevum Agere went to Austria to play two shows: in Innsbruck and in Salzburg at the Seeds of Doom festival, where they shared the stage with Doomocracy, Evangelist, Wheel, Epitaph, Obsidian Sea, Naevus and Crimson Dawn.

Shortly after, Bruno Masulli began writing new material, at first with the intention to release a new EP, but then he decided it would be for a full-length dedicated again to Dante’s “Inferno”. The songwriting continued during the period of the COVID-19 lockdown. In the meantime, the bass player Piero Gambino left the band as a full member because of his personal commitments, but he still contributed to the recording of some of the new tracks. As for the bass, one song was recorded also by former member Marcello D’Anna, who got engaged with the band again as a live bass player, and on the rest of the songs Bruno Masulli played this instrument.

On November 19th 2021, the new In Aevum Agere album »Emperor Of Hell – Canto XXXIV« will be released by Metal On Metal Records. Expect another epic doom metal masterpiece with a personal touch!

In Aevum Agere is:
Bruno Masulli – Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Claudio Del Monaco – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.