Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Italian desert/stoner rock duo Le Scimmie stream their new full-length album »Adriatic Desert«, out now via Frekete! Records

Italian desert/stoner rock duo Le Scimmie has just released their new full-length album »Adriatic Desert« on April 27th, 2023 via Frekete! Records.

01. Wild Boar
02. Adriatic Desert
03. Acid Lime
04. Mammatus
05. A Giant Summer
06. Hysteria
07. 2007
08. Fluorescent Dinosaur

Courtesy of Metaversus PR:

»Adriatic Desert« is the new album by Le Scimmie, out April 27th on CD and digital via Frekete! Records.

The band strikes again seven years after their previous album ‘Colostrum’. The brainchild of Angelo ‘Xunah’ Mirolli operates once more in the form of a duo, with Marco D’Aulerio contributing some sandy and flaming drums to this new work’s overall sound.

Mirolli conceived »Adriatic Desert« while taking some intense strolls along the Adriatic shores of Abruzzo, Italy and it’s taken shape throughout long jam sessions in a practice room crammed with Big Muffs and cranked-up amps. »Adriatic Desert« is a powerful and energetic record. It’s stoner or, to be precise: Adriatic stoner!

The album was recorded, mixed and mastered by sound engineer Simone Lanza (Fuzz Audioworks), who has collaborated with the band in the past.

Order »Adriatic Desert« on CD / Digital:

Photo by Silvana Felice

Le Scimmie was born in 2007 in Vasto, in the province of Chieti (Abruzzo), from the guitarist Angelo “Xunah” Mirolli; in December of the same year they released their first self-produced EP, »L’origine«, with which they started playing live. In 2008 and 2010 the duo reached the final stages of the Abruzzo selections of the nationally known festival Italia Wave, arriving first in the semifinals and two years later in the final. In 2010, the duo released their first official album, »Dromomania« (self-release). In September 2012 they leave for their first European tour, playing together with bands of the caliber of Stoned Jesus and Samsara Blues Experiment, culminating in the date at the Robust Fest in Kiev; in the same year they participate at the Tube Cult Fest in Pescara sharing the stage, among others, with Karma To Burn. Also in 2012 the band released the digital single »Habanero«. After a long break in 2016, Mirolli took over the project again and, with a new line-up and a third member on synths, released the album »Colostrum« (Red Sound Records). In 2017 the band was invited by the Ukrainian label Robust Fellow to represent Italy in the compilation »Electric Funeral Café«; the unreleased track is titled »Sic Transit Gloria Mundi«. 2023 is the year of the third album »Adriatic Desert« (Frekete! Records): a work that sees the return to the duo lineup.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.