Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Italian noise/sludge trio Baratro (with Dave Curran of Unsane) to release debut album »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« on Improved Sequence; new video available now!

Milano, Italy based noise/sludge trio Baratro (with Dave Curran of Unsane) is gearing up to release their debut album »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« on February 2nd, 2024 via Improved Sequence Records.

Watch a music video for their new single »Fight The Parking Meter«!

01. Fight The Parking Meter
02. Pay Dirt
03. The Bad, The Bad And The Ugly
04. Don’t Look At Me, I’m Hideous
05. Adherence
06. It’s All Your Fault Timmy
07. Pope Of Dope
08. Nervous Wreck
09. Grotesque
10. Simp
11. Glutton

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Milano-based noise and sludge rock trio Baratro (with Unsane bassist Dave Curran) announce the release of their awaited debut album »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« this February 2nd on Improved Sequence Records, and unleash their raucous new single »Fight The Parking Meter« today!

“»Fight The Parking Meter« is about lashing out at abuses of power, and its inevitable futility,” says Baratro bassist and vocalist Dave Curran about this new sonic onslaught from the rumbling noise-meets-sludge-meets punk trio. A 3-minute maelstrom of stabbing distortion, breakneck rhythms and titan-sized bass lines that charge ahead mercilessly. Crushing and uncompromising!

Get punched in the face with new video »Fight The Parking Meter«!

Each song on their upcoming debut album »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« explores a different texture of Baratro’s arsenal, and while their sonic essence is clearly recognizable in every track there is a variety of moods to be expected – from uptempo hardcore assaults to nasty doomy breakdowns, all mixed up with their penchant for odd time signatures and Curran’s trademark heavy grooves. The album was fully recorded, mixed and mastered by the band.

»The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« will be released in LTD Dirty Red vinyl, black vinyl, CD and digital on February 2nd, 2024 via independent Italian label Improved Sequence Records.

Debut album »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest« out February 2nd on Improved Sequence Records – Pre-order HERE!

Baratro were born when guitarist Federico Bonuccelli (Council Of Rats) and bassist Dave Curran (Unsane) met at a show in legendary Milan squat Cox18 and started to trade riffs and song ideas. These experiments led to the band’s creation, with Luca Antonozzi (Marnero) joining in to complete the lineup. After a few months of practice and a couple of shows in Italy, they recorded their very first six songs in the empty concert hall of Cox18, consequently released as the »Terms And Conditions« EP via Sangue Dischi Records in July 2021. Given the worldwide shutdown of live performances through 2020/2021, the band focused on writing new music and eventually started tracking down eleven tracks for their first full-length effort »The Sweet Smell Of Unrest«, to be released in the winter of 2024 through Improved Sequence Records.

Baratro is:
Dave Curran – Bass/Vocals
Federico Bonuccelli – Guitar/Vocals
Luca Antonozzi – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.