Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Japanese heavy rockers Boris unveil a music video for the brand new single »My Name Is Blank«

Japanese heavy rockers Boris have unveiled a music video for the brand new single »My Name Is Blank« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »Heavy Rocks (2022)«, which will be released on August 12th, 2022 via Relapse Records on LP/CD/CS/Digital.

01. She Is Burning
02. Cramper
03. My Name Is Blank
04. Blah Blah Blah
05. Question 1
06. Nosferatou
07. Ruins
08. Ghostly Imagination
09. Chained
10. (Not) Last Song

Courtesy of Relapse Records:

The legendary Boris celebrate a 30 year career as one of experimental music’s most forward-thinking, heavy, and innovative bands with the new album »Heavy Rocks (2022)«. Continuing their series of »Heavy Rocks« records, Boris once again channels the classic proto-metal sounds of the 70s into something all new.

The album, 10 pulse-pounding tracks, highlight the very trajectory of Boris and their storied career – from the driving, fuzzed out rock n’ roll opener »She Is Burning«, to the punk, raucous »My Name Is Blank«, Boris are heavier than ever before. »Question 1« is just kickass – D-beats give way to a doomed, spaced out and heavier-than-anything guitar wailing and feedback, before diving back into their Metal, sending the listener into a complete frenzy. This is unmistakably Boris, and this is the band at the height of their powers.

Elsewhere on the record, a more daring, “out there” side of the band begins to shine on tracks such as the aptly titled »Blah Blah Blah«, the industrial »Ghostly Imagination« and the truly wild »Nosferatou”. Noisy passages (not unlike prior collaborations with legendary artists like Merzbow,) collide with visceral vocal howls while a relentless, almost Zornian-saxophone shreds harder than any guitar solo ever could.

Photo by Miki Matsushima

In 2022, Boris cement what Heavy Rock means to them, and release one of their most captivating records to date.

Pre-order »Heavy Rocks (2022)« here:
Digital downloads/streaming:

Boris is:
Atsuo – Vocals, Drums & Percussion
Wata – Vocals, Guitar, Piano & Echo
Takeshi – Vocals, Bass & Guitar

Additional musicians:
suGar Yoshinaga – Vocals, Guitar & Synth
Kazuya Wakabayashi – Sax on Track 01, 04 & 06

Songs & words by Boris.
Recorded by Atsuo at Sound Square 2021.
Produced by suGar Yoshinaga.
Mixed and mastered by Koichi Hara.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.