Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Katatonia to release »Mnemosynean«, an extensive collection marking 30 years of the band

Stockholm, Sweden based progressive rock band Katatonia stream a trailer for the upcoming compilation album, »Mnemosynean«, set to release on October 1st, 2021 via Peaceville Records.

An extensive collection of rarities and B-sides marking 30 years of the band, available on 2 CD, deluxe gatefold triple LP on black vinyl, deluxe gatefold triple LP on white coloured vinyl and digitally.

From Peaceville Records:

This new release marks 30 years since the formation of one of the most enigmatic & aurally captivating bands to grace the dark rock/prog genre, »Mnemosynean« contains an extensive collection of all of Katatonia’s rarities and B-sides, including tracks from the band’s numerous EPs, unheard album songs, limited special edition bonuses, cover songs, as well as a series of collaborative remixes.

The journey of »Mnemosynean« spans the gothic-soaked experimental epic »Scarlet Heavens« recorded all the way back in 1994, through to tracks recorded during the sessions for the stellar 2016 opus, »The Fall Of Hearts«.

The intriguing title of »Mnemosynean« itself represents memories and was selected because tomb inscriptions dating back to 400 BCE say that the dead could keep their memories by avoiding drinking from the Lethe, and drink instead from the stream flowing from the lake of Mnemosyne (the goddess of memory).

Photo by Ester Segarra

The »Mnemosynean« packaging includes a new band biography courtesy of music journalist Eleanor Goodman, as well as full lyrics plus backgrounds to the track origins described by founding members Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse, along with other close Katatonia collaborators. The artwork for this release has been created by long-running Katatonia visual artist Travis Smith.


Disc 1
01. Vakaren
02. Sistere
03. Wide Awake In Quietus
04. Night Comes Down
05. Second
06. The Act Of Darkening
07. Ashen
08. Sold Heart
09. Displaced
10. Dissolving Bonds
11. Unfurl
12. Code Against The Code

Disc 2
01. Wait Outside
02. Sulfur
03. March 4
04. O How I Enjoy The Light
05. Help Me Disappear
06. Fractured
07. No Devotion
08. Quiet World
09. Scarlet Heavens
10. In The White (Urban Dub)
11. My Twin (Opium Dub Version)
12. Soil’s Song (Krister Linder 2012 Remix)
13. Day And Then The Shade (Frank Default Remix)
14. Idle Blood (Linje 14)
15. Hypnone (Frank Default Hypnocadence Mix)

Pre-orders available here:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.