Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Kuolemanlaakso to release companion EP to latest album titled »Kuolleiden laulu«; the first single and title track streaming

Finnish death doom metal act Kuolemanlaakso has released the first single and title track of their new EP »Kuolleiden laulu«, out in December 2022 via Svart Records. The single is available now on all streaming platforms!

01. Kuolleiden laulu
02. Juuret jalkojeni alla
03. Rautasiivet

Courtesy of Svart Records:

Death doom metal group Kuolemanlaakso’s most recent album »Kuusumu«, released to much critical acclaim in March 2022, will be followed up by a limited three song EP »Kuolleiden laulu« in December. Both the album and the EP were recorded in the same studio session in 2021, both share lyrical themes and cover art based on art by Evelyn De Morgan (1855-1919).

“We knew already when entering the studio that we’re going to record more than an album, as we had plenty of material to work on. When all ten songs were done, it felt natural to compile the album of the heavier epic songs and put the more unusual and catchy tracks on the EP. These three songs have contagious hooks and clean vocals,” comments guitarist-songwriter Laakso.

The title track on the EP is the band’s most radio friendly track to date with a smoother production and an infectious chorus plus guest female vocals by Lotta Ruutiainen, who also performed on the album. The slow and menacing second track »Juuret jalkojeni alla« is a more complex composition, whereas the EP closing number »Rautasiivet« pays a visit to the same melancholic but catchy territory that Kent and Katatonia also inhabit.

Photo by Riku Jokinen

“The three songs on »Kuolleiden laulu« differ from one another considerably, and they present new sides to the band. Lyrically all three songs are fictional stories based on the 10-year volcanic winter that begun in 535 and has been described by historical scholars as ‘the worst time to be alive’,” comments Laakso.

Aleksi Munter (ex-Swallow The Sun and Insomnium) plays keyboards on the EP, and it was produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by V.Santura (Triptykon), the man responsible for producing everything Kuolemanlaakso has released thus far.

The EP will be made available on limited vinyl and CD, both restricted to 500 copies only. The title track on the EP is available now on the Svart Records YouTube channel, with all DSPs following on Friday 30th of September.

Music & lyrics by Laakso.
Arrangement by Kuolemanlaakso, keys by Laakso & Aleksi Munter.
Co-produced, mixed, mastered and engineered by V. Santura.

Kuolemanlaakso is:
Kotamäki – Lead Vocals
Laakso – Guitar, Keyboards and Backing Vocals
Kouta – Guitar
Usva – Bass
Tiera – Drums

Guest performances:
Lotta Ruutiainen – Backing Vocals
V. Santura – Lead Guitar and Percussions
Aleksi Munter – Keyboards

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.