Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Lili Refrain stream the first single »Mami Wata« taken from her forthcoming studio album »Mana«

Lili Refrain stream the first single »Mami Wata« taken from her forthcoming studio album, »Mana«, which will be released on April 21st, 2022 via Subsound Records.

01. Ki
02. Kokyou
03. Eikyou
04. Ichor
05. Sangoma
06. Mami Wata 04:48
07. Ahi Tapu
08. Travellers
09. Earthling

From Subsound Records:

Lili Refrain’s newest LP »Mana« lives up to its title. A combination of Anna Von Hausswolff and »Burning World«-era Swans, following the words of Walter Hoeijmakers, the founder of Roadburn Festival.

Each track is multifaceted and they all have a heft to them, a weight that translates well to Refrain’s multi-instrumentalist abilities.

Commenting on the nature of recording process Lili states: “»Mana« is an album totally different from anything I’ve ever done before. I felt the need to experiment with the use of new instruments and take a totally new path. Compared to my previous album »Mana« is the most ritual in some ways”.

Refrain comments on the origin of the title saying: “It means ‘life force’, power that comes from within and is dedicated to those who have found themselves consciously facing a journey, without knowing where it would have arrived or even if it would have survived.”

Photo by Tania Alineri

Using very few guitars, Lili Refrain has not only distanced herself from her comfort zone but also created a danceable feel focusing on arrangements and vocal techniques.

However, the work on background sounds was very deliberate, as Lili notices: “Stefano Morabito, the engineer and the owner of “16th Cellar Studio” in Rome welcomed me in his studio and had been following me throughout the production.”

“Spontaneous” is probably the best description of creating the record that became »Mana«. “I felt the need to experiment.” says Lili about the current evolutions and changes in her “inner gaze”.

Starting with »Ichor«, »Sangoma« and »Mami Wata«, Lili Refrain has been going down the path of rediscovering herself as an artist and performer. Combining both heavy synths sounds and operatic heights. Pairing Taiko drum sounds of »Mami Wata« with her trilling and whispering, Lili Refrain manages to create a chanting and ritualistic experience.

Released in:
• Gatefold Black Vinyl Edition
• Gatefold Pink Vinyl Limited Edition
• Gatefold Swirl Vinyl Ultralimited Edition
• Limited Edition Black Cassette
• Limited Edition Pink Cassette
• Ultralimited Edition Gold Cassette
• CD Digipak
• Digital

Pre-order »Mana« here:

All songs are written and performed by Lili Refrain except the Taiko piece in »Eikyou«, written by the founder and director of Taikoza in New York, Marco Lienhard.
Produced by Lili Refrain and Stefano Morabito.
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Stefano Morabito at 16th Cellar Studio in Rome, Italy.
Artwork by AnimaMundi (cover photo), Francesco Russo (graphics) and Emanuel Montini (booklet photo).
Layout by Francesco Russo.

Very special guests in »Eikyou« are Rita Superbi and her school Kikaijo Taiko

Lili Refrain plays: Taiko, Floor Tom, Bass Drum, Glockenspiel, Gong, Bells, Crotales, Jingles, Air Conditioner Metal Tube, Trowel, Acoustic and Electric Guitars, Synth and Voices.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.