Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Listen to the second full-length album »Aborted From Reality« by US death/doom metal duo Static Abyss; out now via Peaceville Records!

US death/doom metal duo Static Abyss featuring Autopsy members Greg Wilkinson and Chris Reifert has just released their second full-length album »Aborted From Reality« on June 30th, 2023 via Peaceville Records.

01. Aborted From Reality
02. Wormskinned
03. Cathedral Of Vomit
04. Cerebral Ghost
05. Mind Tentacles
06. Poisoned Limbs
07. Horizon Of Cremains
08. Crosses And Coffins
09. Unrepentant Mutant Serpent
10. Dehumanized
11. The Static Abyss

Courtesy of Peaceville Records:

The second studio album of morbid madness from the rising U.S. death metal act Static Abyss consisting of Autopsy’s Greg Wilkinson and Chris Reifert. Wasting no time following their 2022 debut »Labyrinth Of Veins«, the band return with their otherworldly Venn diagram of death doom and crust sounds and set their sights once more on their new album »Aborted From Reality«.

Although a relatively new act itself, Static Abyss comprises of longstanding members of the US metal scene. The band consists of the duo of Greg Wilkinson (guitars/bass) & Chris Reifert (drums/vocals), both members of legendary American masters of sickness Autopsy, with Greg (also of cult act Deathgrave) recently becoming the band’s new permanent bass player for the band’s »Morbidity Triumphant« opus.

Photo by Nancy Reifert

»Aborted From Reality« follows swiftly on from Static Abyss’ 2022 debut, »Labyrinth Of Veins«; itself a wild and contagious ride through a nightmarish soundscape. This album presents a stark contrast between a brutal wall of riffs and crawling darkly hypnotic guitar leads burying themselves under the skin, and combines for a sick and unnerving experience through death metal combined with crust and doom elements. Chris’ unmistakable vocals come spewing from the depths of insanity in this soundtrack to an anxiety-filled dimension, backing up the twisted riffs from Greg’s own cauldron of mental chaos.

»Aborted From Reality« was recorded at Earhammer Studios in Oakland, CA, with engineering, mixing and mastering overseen by Greg himself. Following on from the debut release, cover art appears once again courtesy of All Things Rotten.

The album is available in multiple formats that include CD, black vinyl, ‘Toxic Green’ Vinyl as well as digitally.

Order your copy here:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.