Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Locrian unveil a music video for the track »Mortichnia« from their latest full-length album »New Catastrophism«

Photo by Elena Volkova

Chicago, Illinois based experimental/dark ambient/drone metal trio Locrian has released a music video for the track »Mortichnia« from their latest full-length album, »New Catastrophism«, out on August 12th, 2022 via Profound Lore Records.

Directed, edited and shot by Sean Dack and Lucy Swope.

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

Experimental band Locrian have teamed up with Invisible Oranges to stream a haunting video for their song »Mortichnia« at Invisible Oranges. The song is from their album »New Catastrophism« which came out via Profound Lore in August.

The video’s driectors Sean Dack and Lucy Swope comment: “A witch (probably named Mortichnia) is the last surviving person on earth after a plague/virus ravages the globe. The witch is also coming down with this disease so she sets out to collect items for potions and spells to push the disease out of her body. She comes across many remnants, relics and ruins of civilizations past and we travel with her until the sun sets that day.”

»New Catastrophism« sees the iconic experimental music trio return back to their roots through four immersive tracks that signal towards the band’s signature expressions through dark ambient, experimental music, drone and post-rock. Massive dystopian soundscapes through the intricate, layered, and spacious sound palette Locrian unveil.

Locrian is a prophetic voice of decline. From the band’s inception, it has comfortably straddled both the experimental and metal underground, weaving themes of apocalypse, urban decay, environmental destruction and birth/death/rebirth throughout its multifaceted and genre-defying releases. The trio formed in 2005 in Chicago and features Terence Hannum (synthesizers, vocals, tape loops), André Foisy (guitars, electronics), and Steven Hess (drums, electronics). Over their sixteen-year history, Locrian have released six studio albums, three collaborative albums, and numerous limited-edition releases.

»New Catastrophism« and »Ghost Frontiers« were recorded and mixed by J. Robbins, mastered by Brad Boatright, and features artwork by Trevor Paglen with design by Chimere Noire.

Order on CD:
Order on vinyl:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.