Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Marc Urselli’s SteppenDoom release a cover of Soundgarden’s »4th Of July« feat. Matt Cameron, Igor Sydorenko, Alain Johannes & more!

Marc Urselli’s SteppenDoom has released a cover of Soundgarden’s »4th Of July« featuring Matt Cameron (Soundgarden, Pearl Jam), Igor Sydorenko (Stoned Jesus), Alain Johannes (Queens Of The Stone Age, Eleven), Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) & Utelo.

The track is taken from the forthcoming »Superunknown Redux« tribute album, set to release on July 14, 2023 via Magnetic Eye Records.

01. Ufomammut – Let Me Drown
02. High Priest feat. Bobby Ferry (16) – My Wave
03. Marissa Nadler – Fell on Black Days
04. Somnuri – Mailman’
05. Valley Of The Sun – Superunknown
06. Frayle – Head Down
07. Spotlights – Black Hole Sun
08. Horseburner – Spoonman
09. Witch Mountain – Limo Wreck
10. Beastwars – The Day I Tried To Live
11. Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows – Kickstand
12. The Age Of Truth – Fresh Tendrils
13. Marc Urselli’s SteppenDoom feat. Matt Cameron (Soundgarden, Pearl Jam), Igor Sydorenko (Stoned Jesus), Alain Johannes (Queens Of The Stone Age, Eleven), Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) & Utelo – 4th Of July
14. Dozer – Half
15. Darkher – Like Suicide

Courtesy of Magnetic Eye Records:

Rising at the end of the 20th Century, Soundgarden were loud, heavy, genuine, and unaffected by whatever was cool. Their mix of weighty power, soaring melodies and punk sneer made them ideal standard bearers for the grunge movement, but their towering musicianship and intelligent songcraft helped them transcend the era and remain iconic far beyond their origins in the Seattle scene. Arguably their finest and most comprehensive statement, »Superunknown« was the album that launched them to global mega-stardom. It contains some of the most lasting, meaningful, and heaviest songs they ever wrote.

»Superunknown Redux« presents new takes on all fifteen tracks from the seminal Soundgarden album from some of the loudest, coolest, and most eclectic bands across rock and metal today, along with a few less heavy but absolutely captivating contributions.

Along with »Superunknown Redux«, we also present our »Best Of Soundgarden Redux« companion album, offering up another 15 all-time classics and deep cuts from across the rest of the grunge gods’ extensive catalog.

The Magnetic Eye Redux Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish. Artists we love from within and outside the heavy rock landscape choose tracks to make their own, bringing these milestone records into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, we’ve produced Redux editions of Pink Floyd’s »The Wall«, Helmet’s »Meantime«, Black Sabbath’s »Vol. 4«, Hendrix’s »Electric Ladyland«, Alice In Chains’ »Dirt«, and AC/DC’s »Back In Black«, which have included artists like Red Fang, Matt Pike, Pallbearer, The Melvins, All Them Witches, Khemmis, ASG, Supersuckers, Zakk Wylde, Mark Lanegan, Ruby The Hatchet, and many more amazing artists.

Tune into the seventh foray into Redux territory as Magnetic Eye Records and friends pay long-due respect to the Seattle legends with »Superunknown Redux«!

Order now:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.