Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Marianas Rest unveil a music video for the closing track »South Of Vostok« off their upcoming studio album, »Fata Morgana«

Finnish death/doom metal outfit Marianas Rest unveil a music video for the closing track »South Of Vostok« off their upcoming studio album, »Fata Morgana«, which will drop on March 12th, 2021 via Napalm Records.

Video was directed, filmed and edited by Jari Heino.
Written by Nico Mänttäri, Jaakko Mäntymaa and Jari Heino.

01. Sacrificial
02. Glow From The Edge
03. Pointless Tale
04. The Weight
05. Horrokseen
06. Fata Morgana
07. Advent Of Nihilism
08. South Of Vostok

From Napalm Records:

Emerging from the Finnish coastal town of Kotka, melodic death/doom metal strikers Marianas Rest will unleash their third studio album, »Fata Morgana«, on March 12, 2021 via Napalm Records.

The Finns – featuring Jaakko Mäntymaa on vocals and Omnium Gatherum’s Aapo Koivisto on keys – showcase a true virtuosity of heavy riffs, hypnotizing soundscapes and impetuous tempo-changes on their new work of art. »Fata Morgana« combines intense melodic death metal spiced with significant doom elements and breathes an overall melancholic theme with every note, which the first output, »Glow From The Edge«, is proof of.

Atmospheric guitar tones set the stage for this gloomy melodic death and doom metal offering. Spoken words permeate the listener’s brain, soon erupting in harsh and intense growling while the dreamlike backing vocals of guest musician Lindsay Matheson/Schoolcraft are carried along with sophisticated melodies.

»Fata Morgana« marks the final chapter of a trilogy that began when Marianas Rest released their first full-length, 2016’s »Horror Vacui«, followed by the critically acclaimed full-length »Ruins« (2019). The series encompasses themes of isolation, eventual mental collapse and emergence from that woeful state, respectively – however, the band invites fans to experience the concept from their own perspectives.

The upcoming eight-song epos delivers atmospheric melodies that are as endless and fascinating as the overwhelming beauty of Finnish nature, which tracks like the expressive »The Weight« or authentic »Pointless Tale« are evidence of. Topped by guest appearances of Timo Virkkala, who shares his awesome cello magic, and the bewitching backing vocals of Lindsay Matheson/Schoolcraft (ex-Cradle Of Filth), Marianas Rest take their creative output to the next level and make »Fata Morgana« a must-have for fans of bands like Insomnium, Kaunis Kuolematon, Vorna and My Dying Bride.

This melodic melancholy is produced by Teemu Aalto (Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum) and Marianas Rest, recorded and mixed by Teemu Aalto at Teemu Aalto Music Productions and mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers West who received a Grammy nomination with Candlemass feat. Tony Iommi for Best Metal Performance.

As a special bonus, Marianas Rest will release a limited edition reissue of their aforementioned second studio album, »Ruins«, on vinyl for the first time ever on March 12, 2021 via Napalm Records

Unleashed back in April 2019, the Finns’ full-length tells the story of how a mind slowly crumbles, about introversion, putting up mental walls and eventually disappearing inside your own head.

»Ruins« is available as a 2LP Gatefold Marbled Black/White vinyl (limited to 300 copies), this is a must have for fans of this somber manifest of heavy riffs and grieving melodies!

Marianas Rest is:
Jaakko Mäntymaa – Vocals
Aapo Koivisto – Keys
Nico Mänttäri – Guitar
Harri Sunila – Guitar
Niko Lindman – Bass
Nico Heininen – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.