Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Märvel launch a music video for the fifth and final single »Great Man« taken from their upcoming studio album »Graces Came With Malice«

Swedish high energy garage rockers Märvel launch a music video for the fifth and final single »Great Man« taken from their upcoming album, »Graces Came With Malice«, which will be released on April 22nd, 2022 via The Sign Records. »Graces Came With Malice« is Märvel’s ninth full-length studio album. The band celebrates 20 year anniversary in 2022.

01. Slasher With A Broken Heart
02. The Disaster
03. Sound Of Life Slipping Away
04. Great Man
05. Graces Came With Malice
06. One Common Enemy
07. Sorry State Of Affairs
08. Lizard’s Tongue
09. Hot Nite In Dallas
10. Queen For A Day

Recorded and produced by Märvel October 2020 to October 2021 at Solskensfabriken in Sweden.
Mixed by Robert Pehrsson at Studio Humbucker.
Mastered by Magnus Lindberg.
Illustrations by Mats Engesten.

Courtesy of All Noir PR:

High energy garage rock trio Märvel launch the single and music video »Great Man« on March 11. The single is the fifth and final one leading up to the Swedes’ ninth studio album »Graces Came With Malice«, set for release on April 22 as part of Märvel’s 20 year anniversary.

Listen to »Great Man« through your favorite streaming platform or watch the brand new video!

Märvel comments on the single »Great Man«: “Some people are born with a genuine talent and they could easily conquer the moon and the stars. But for some reason they allow their demons to take over and they ruin it all for themselves. Some kind of self-destructo-mode is put into high gear. This song is about trying to lend some courage to those people, some courage to make them reach out and ask for help. You gotta believe that there’s still hope even if things are looking pretty bad.”

»Graces Came With Malice« will be released on The Sign Records on vinyl, CD, and all digital platforms. The physical record can be pre-ordered here:ärvel

Märvel was formed in 2002 when John Steen (The King), Ulrik Bostedt (Speedo), and Tony Samuelsson (The Vicar) spent a high school exchange year in Colorado, USA. Ditching classes, drinking beer, and playing rock ‘n’ roll in the garage gave the world »Marvellous«, their first EP. The band got airtime on several college radio stations before they left the USA and returned to Sweden with lousy grades, but high spirits. Two other vinyl EP’s (»Heroine Tracks« & »Bedlam At The Embassy«) were released the following years through Swedish indie labels.

Between 2003 and 2011, the band started honing their skills and image by playing live and recording three albums. Constant touring and airplay during the period helped the band to build a very loyal fanbase in Europe.

With the release of their third full-length album »Warhawks Of War«, Märvel went through some changes. The earlier superhero gimmick was abandoned in favor of new and more iconic personas, The King, The Vicar, and Speedo. A second live bass player, The Aviator, was also added to the lineup. The band fully stepped into the new characters by also adopting them live on stage. »Warhawks Of War« was released in 2011 and marked a big step forward for the band in terms of sound and strong material. It also featured the guest stars Strings (Dundertåget, The Hellacopters) and Dregen (Backyard Babies, The Hellacopters, Michael Monroe).

In 2012, Speedo (Ulrik Bostedt) was replaced by Burgher (Ulrik Bostedt). Filled with youthful raw energy, and with a unique style, Burgher helped catapult the band even further while touring Germany, France, and Spain to promote the »Warhawks« album.

After touring with Dregen in 2013, the band returned to the studio to record »Hadal Zone Express«. The album was released 28th of March 2014 to a never-ending stream of praise. In the fall, the band recorded a mini-album, with Fred Estby, »The Hills Have Eyes«. The title track along with a cover of W.A.S.P.’s »L.O.V.E. Machine« made a big fuzz and got frequent air time.

In 2017, the band partnered with The Sign Records, and the first release was the seventh album »At The Sunshine Factory«, the first Märvel album to be recorded fully by themselves in their own newly established studio, Solskensfabriken. The second release was a cheeky cover album, »Guilty Pleasures«, featuring songs from a wide spectrum of artists such as Dire Straits, Agnetha Fältskog, REO Speedwagon, and Monster Magnet.

It is now 2022, and with a year and a half of the pandemic, the band still has had the opportunity to spend time together. The outcome will be a new album to be released in the near future. As always, the songs are in focus, and the release sees Märvel back at the height of their creativity, blending all their eclectic influences into a melodic piercing piece of high-energy rock ‘n’ roll!

Märvel are:
The King – Guitars, Vocals
The Vicar – Drums
The Burgher – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.