Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Mercury Circle premiere a new epic lyric video for the track »The Gates Wide Open«

Finnish gothic/doom metal act Mercury Circle premiere a new epic lyric video for »The Gates Wide Open« from their debut album, »Killing Moons«, set to release on October 8th, 2021 via Noble Demon.

Video by Rahel Gölzner, Gerald Gölzner, Toni Hatakka, Jussi Hämäläinen and Ykä Järvinen.
Concept by Jaani Peuhu, Rahel Gölzner and Jussi Hämäläinen.

01. The Gates Wide Open
02. Black Mirrors
03. You Open Up The Earth
04. Killing Moons
05. Seven Archangels
06. Call On The Dark
07. Avalanche
08. An Arrow
09. Like Matches
10. Death Poem

From Noble Demon:

Born as a brainchild in 2018 by Iconcrash’s and Swallow The Sun’s Jaani Peuhu, and featuring members of Children Of Bodom, Sleep Of Monsters & more, October 8th will see the release of »Killing Moons«, the highly anticipated debut album by Finland’s very own Mercury Circle. Featuring ten enthralling tracks, which differ wildly in expression and sonic aesthetics, the band’s upcoming record is a deeply powerful and majestic piece of music, truly representing a genre of its own. Dark metal infused soundscapes with powerful synth and electro waves are the breeding ground for a unique journey filled with painful departures to new beginnings, a spectacle in which hope and promises echoing loss and regret.

In support of their upcoming album, Mercury Circle just shared a new and epic lyric video for the track »The Gates Wide Open«, streaming here:

The song is about temptations and how we sometimes make questionable decisions knowing that things won’t end up well.

“I wrote this song as the opening track of the album so it has this long hypnotic intro which introduces the atmosphere of the whole album. It puts you into a mind-travelling state and takes you on the journey that is »Killing Moons«.” band mastermind Jaani Peuhu states.

Photo by Laureline Tilkin

“The amazing guest musicians on this track are Gogo Melone ART (additional vocals), Sarah Elisabeth Wohlfahrt (backing vocals & co-lyrics), Diane Daher (harp), Jan Rechberger (additional drums, darbuka & shaker) and Ukri Suvilehto (shaman drum). It was mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano at Orgone Studios. Thank you all for making this song magical.

The video was made by Rahel Gölzner and Gerald Gölzner at Krawall und Stille, Toni Hatakka, Jussi Hämäläinen and Ykä Järvinen. Thank you for giving the lyrics this most beautiful backdrop.
The artwork was designed by Teemu Hartikainen with the photograph taken by Rahel Gölzner at Krawall und Stille. Thank you for blessing us with your gifts.”

»Killing Moons« will be coming out on October 8th through Noble Demon and is available for pre-order here:

Mercury Circle are:
Jaani Peuhu – Vocals, Guitars, Synths (Iconcrash, Swallow The Sun, Hallatar)
Jussi Hämäläinen – Guitars, Synths, Backing vocals (Hanging Garden, The Chant)
Juppe Sutela – Guitars (To/Die/For)
Ande Kiiski – Bass (Sleep Of Monsters, Rytmihäiriö)
Jaska Raatikainen – Drums (Children Of Bodom)

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.