Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Modder presents their self-titled debut album, out now via Lay Bare Recordings / Consouling Sounds

Belgian sludge/doom metal band Modder presents their self-titled debut album, which was released on December 3rd, 2021 on vinyl via Lay Bare Recordings / Consouling Sounds.

Says the band: “Our self-titled debut album »Modder« is out on Lay Bare Recordings & Consouling Sounds. Much love to both for giving us a platform to spread our riffs to the world.”

01. Mount Frequency
02. Wax Rituals
03. Spasm
04. When Your Bones Weren’t Meant To Be

Written, mixed and mastered by Mathlovsky.
Artwork and design by Throne.

Belgium’s Modder started out as a passion project between guitarist, songwriter and producer Mathlovsky and his longtime companion Gregory Simons on drums. In November 2020 they released their massive first single »Mudslinger«, which is an impressive 21 minute long riff-fest referencing artists like Sleep and Mastodon.

Following the release of »Mudslinger« bass player Maurice van der Es, guitarist Maxime Rouquart and synth wizard Simon Felix joined the duo to extend the sonic mayhem into a tight and pounding live band. Despite being completely new to the scene they have already managed a spot at this year’s edition of Desertfest Belgium.

Photo by Thijs Bliki

Modder are now ready to release their self-titled debut album, scheduled for release on December 3rd through Lay Bare Recordings & Consouling Sounds. Initially it was only Lay Bare Recordings working with Modder on this release, but after witnessing their debut show Consouling Sounds was extremely excited to join the party.

The record’s sonic palate consists of riffs that are designed to make your neck break, supported by thundering bass lines and grooving drums. Surrounded by industrial samples and synths they forge a unique sound in the sludge landscape that Modder finds themselves in.

Order »Modder« on 12″ Gold w/ Black Splatter Vinyl here: or

Modder is:
Mathlovsky – Guitars
Gregory Simons – Drums
Maurice van der Es – Bass
Maxime Rouquart – Guitars
Simon Felix – Electronics

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.