Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

My Dying Bride share new single and music video »The 2nd Of Three Bells«; new studio album »A Mortal Binding« out April 19th via Nuclear Blast Records!

UK death/doom metal legends My Dying Bride have released new music video for the second single »The 2nd Of Three Bells« taken from their upcoming studio album, »A Mortal Binding«, due out on April 19th, 2024 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Video directed by Daniel Waverley Gray.

01. Her Dominion
02. Thornwyck Hymn
03. The 2nd Of Three Bells
04. Unthroned Creed
05. The Apocalyptist
06. A Starving Heart
07. Crushed Embers

Courtesy of Nuclear Blast Records:

British death-doom legends, My Dying Bride, recently announced their 15th studio album, »A Mortal Binding«, which is set to be released on 19th April. Now, the Yorkshire based sextet have revealed the second single from the record. The solemn, mournful track titled »The 2nd Of Three Bells« comes accompanied by a richly gothic video directed by Daniel Gray.

My Dying Bride’s Andrew Craighan commented, “»The 2nd Of Three Bells« see the band in a more musical performance role juxtaposed with artistic metaphor of the struggles between the deathknell itself and the lust for life’s brief joys.”

You can pre-order »A Mortal Binding« HERE!

Listen to »The 2nd Of Three Bells« HERE and watch the music video HERE!

»A Mortal Binding«, the much-anticipated follow-up to »The Ghost Of Orion« (2020) finds the Yorkshire-based quintet delighting in anxiety, loss, and toil to resplendent effect. From the raw distress of »Her Dominion« and twisted horror of »Thornwyck Hymn« to the funerary violins of the 11-minute monolith »The Apocalyptist« and the classic-feeling »The 2nd Of Three Bells«, »A Mortal Binding« is pinnacle My Dying Bride. If »Songs Of Darkness, Words Of Light« (2004) elevated the band to new heights and »A Map of All Our Failures« (2012) expanded upon the group’s mid-tens grandeur, then »A Mortal Binding« stages My Dying Bride’s next exultant phase of elegiac misery.

My Dying Bride hired »The Ghost Of Orion« studio wizard Mark Mynett to produce, mix, and master »A Mortal Binding«. The group holed up at Mynett’s Mynetaur Productions (Paradise Lost, Rotting Christ) in Manchester, UK, where they tracked the album consecutively from July to September 2023.

For over three decades, My Dying Bride from West Yorkshire have been the voice of the hopeless and broken, combining haunting sounds with crushing misery and melancholy. With their signature sound they’ve shaped the doom metal scene like barely any other act and integrated both soft violin melodies and violent death metal growls into their music, whilst always staying strictly loyal to themselves. And since the early Nineties, the band’s masterminds and founding members Andrew Craighan and Aaron Stainthorpe forged beautiful grief into studio albums with songs of epic length. As My Dying Bride edge past their 33rd year, they’re aging gracefully, remaining as vital and heart-wrenching as ever. The flower withers once more on My Dying Bride’s upcoming new record »A Mortal Binding«, due out on 19th April 2024.

My Dying Bride are: Andrew Craighan (guitars), Aaron Stainthorpe (vocals), Lena Abé (bass), Shaun MacGowan (keyboards, violin), Dan Mullins (drums), and Neil Blanchett (guitars).

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

One thought on “My Dying Bride share new single and music video »The 2nd Of Three Bells«; new studio album »A Mortal Binding« out April 19th via Nuclear Blast Records!

  1. The word legendary carries a lot of weight and my dying bride wears that crown with pride. Thank goodness they did not end up like anathema! They turned there backs on there fans and decided to be the new pink Floyd. They have not been relevant since the “silent enigma”! My dying bride have earned their respect in the underground. Anathema please do us a favor and just call it quits then you will have my respect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.