Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

New Zealand doom/sludge metal band Demons Of Noon releases new single »Crushing Sun«; debut album »Death Machine« out December 1st via Evil Feast Records!

Auckland, New Zealand based doom/sludge metal band Demons Of Noon has unveiled the third single »Crushing Sun« taken from their upcoming debut full-length album, »Death Machine«, set to release on December 1st, 2023 via Evil Feast Records. Featuring members of Fortress Europe, Homebrew, Toad and Luger Boa.

Listen to »Crushing Sun« on Bandcamp, Spotify and other streaming platforms!

01. Echolalia
02. Crushing Sun
03. Coward
04. Succession
05. Bad Men
06. Sphere Of Peace
07. Demons Of Shade
08. Torched And Burned

Courtesy of Sheltered Life PR:

Formed in Auckland in 2017, Demons Of Noon is a smouldering cult doom colossus that will conjure in the mind of any true fan of the genre, the cosmic rock of Blood Ceremony, Lucifer and Purson.

Having harvested a loyal fanbase across their native New Zealand, the six-piece has continued to up their game time and time again, refining their sound with every new release while continuing to mine the primitive and historic grooves channelled by the likes of Black Sabbath, Coven and Black Widow.

Following the success of several self-funded singles, this December the band releases »Death Machine« – their first full-length album – amid a fug of smoke; spectral jams and punishing riffs.

Photo by Harry Skelton

Driven by the ethereal and sombre vocals of Aria Jones and Tamsyn Matchett, the insidious guitar-play of Abraham Kunin and Scott Satherley, and low-end rumblings of bassist Jonathan Burgess and drummer, Joseph McElhinney, Demons Of Noon are an absolute force. And their latest single, »Coward« is testament to this. Foreshadowing the arrival of their incoming debut, this bruising hymn demonstrates the breadth of their influences, drawing upon industrial bands like Ministry, the relentlessness of early Shihad, Mazzy Star and the swing of those great New Orleans sludge bands.

“Metal is the only sane reaction to modernity,” says bassist, Jonathan Burgess. “Since Neolithic times, human beings have stepped outside of themselves through immersion in hypnotic and repetitive sounds, and we all need to reconnect with this in the weird times that we find ourselves in. »Death Machine« is a ritualistic journey that delivers the unexpectedly uplifting sonic balm that the world needs in 2023.”

Sinister, brooding, and heavy enough to dislodge the earth from its axis, »Death Machine« is a thrilling entry into the annals of Southern Hemisphere Doom and will be released on 1st December 2023 via Evil Feast Records. Pre-order »Death Machine« LP here:

Live dates:
2/12 – Wine Cellar (Album Release Show) – Auckland, New Zealand
14/12 – Valhalla (Album Release Show) – Wellington, New Zealand

Demons Of Noon is:
Aria Jones – Vocals
Tamsyn Matchett – Vocals
Abraham Kunin – Guitar
Scott Satherley – Guitar
Jonathan Burgess – Bass
Joseph McElhinney – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.