Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Northern California’s post-metal act Sleep Maps share title track from forthcoming album »Reclaim Chaos«; out on September 8th via Lost Future Records!

Northern California’s post-metal act Sleep Maps share the title track from their forthcoming album »Reclaim Chaos«, scheduled for release on September 8th, 2023 via Lost Future Records.

01. Reclaim Chaos
02. Shattered Generation
03. Isolationists
04. Follow The Signal
05. Vapor
06. They Are Gods
07. You Want What I Cannot Give
08. In The Sun, In The Moon
09. Kill The World

Courtesy of US/THEM Group:

“For »Reclaim Chaos«, Kaplan has relocated to Northern California, added vocalist David Kegg and guitarist Brian Horn and injected a heavier, more malevolent – perhaps, death metal-inspired – element to his music. »Shattered Generation« embodies that transformation with its spacious, architectural guitar work juxtaposed next to deathly growled vocals.” — Decibel Magazine

Northern California band Sleep Maps share the title track from their forthcoming 5th album, »Reclaim Chaos« via Metal Insider. Hear/share »Reclaim Chaos« HERE.

Decibel Magazine recently hosted the video for »Shattered Generation« HERE.

After a three year break, Northern California based post-metal band Sleep Maps is set to release their 5th LP, »Reclaim Chaos«, on September 8th, 2023. For the first time the band has a dedicated vocalist to bring a new intensity and rawness to the cinematic post-metal sound that has defined the band for a decade. Founder Ben Kaplan enlisted vocalist David Kegg to write and record lyrics and the result is a brand new direction that incorporates black and sludge metal with synth soundscapes to create something totally new in the genre, taking as much inspiration from Russian Circles as it does from Depeche Mode.

»Reclaim Chaos« has its themes rooted in the systems that have propped up a failing society for too long. Religion, politics and money rule everything around us and the systems put in place to make things ‘equal for all’ have broken down in disrepair. This set of songs is the soundtrack to a world trapped in a chaos of its own making. A reflection of these broken times and a way to cope with them.

Sleep Maps was conceived in Los Angeles by multi-instrumentalist and producer Ben Kaplan (founder of Lost Future Records). Over the course of 4 albums they have helped define post-metal and their own particular type of instrumental rock. Now based in Northern California the band includes singer David Kegg and guitarist Brian Horn.

»Reclaim Chaos« was recorded in Los Angeles and mixed by Matt Bayles at The Red Room in Seattle, WA. »Reclaim Chaos« will be available on LP, CD and download on on September 8th, 2023 via Lost Future Records.

Pre-order here:

B. Kaplan – Guitars, Drums, Bass, Synths
D. Kegg – Vocals and Lyrics
B. Horn – Additional Guitars

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.