Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian post-rock sextet Spurv share soaring video for new single »Som skyer«; new full-length album »Brefjære« out September 22nd via Pelagic Records!

Norwegian instrumental post-metal sextet Spurv has released new single and music video »Som skyer« taken from their upcoming full-length album, »Brefjære«, due out on September 22nd, 2023 via Pelagic Records.

01. Krokete, rettskafen
02. En brennende vogn over jordet
03. Som skyer
04. Under himmelhelvingen
05. Til en ny vår
06. Å vente er å endre
07. Urdråpene
08. Din pust fra stein

Courtesy of Pelagic Records:

Scandinavian post-rock giants Spurv have announced the release of »Som skyer« on August 1st via Germany’s Pelagic Records. The penultimate single from »Brefjære«, the band’s fourth full-length release due September 22nd; »Som skyer« sees the band layer orchestral grandeur over a shimmering, glacial guitar refrain as thunderous drums push the five and half minute piece to ever greater heights.

Having recently moved to Tromsø, a remote northern province far above the Arctic Circle, principal songwriter Gustav Jørgen Pedersen took inspiration from the forces of nature he found himself surrounded by. Despite the overwhelming presence of the mountains and the unrelenting Arctic winds, Pedersen was struck by the resilience and sheer determination of life, from the birch trees outside his window to a single butterfly battling the breeze.

Photo by Jørn Veberg

This delicate balance is perfectly captured in the sheer euphoria of »Som skyer« and its accompanying video. Spurv take us soaring through the sky as the sun peers over the jagged Norwegian fjørds; finding the joy of life in even the most desolate places.

»Brefjære« sees the band take their latent exploration of neo-classical composition even further. Throughout »Som skyer«, guitarist Herman Otterlei’s celestial, spiralling motif is complemented by glockenspiels, a brass section and a 14-voice choir; adding further depth to the incredible dynamic sensitivity that Spurv have carved out over their decade at the forefront of international post-rock.

Gustav Jørden Petersen on »Som skyer«: “»Som skyer« is Spurv at its perhaps most ethereal. The song is about the wind that flies over the earth, rustles in the treetops, and plunges down over the mountain. It represents time and fleeting memories, words and ideas that are shared across generations. The song contains old melodies combined with new arrangements, and was finally realized as part of Brefjære after many years.”

Pre-order / stream / download here:

Spurv is:
Gustav Jørgen Pedersen – Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Vocal On #4, Percussion
Herman Otterlei – Electric Guitar
Hans-Jakob Jeremiassen – Bass
Simon Ljung – Drums
Eirik Ørevik Aadland – Electric Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar, Glockenspiel, Trumpet,
Simen Eifring – Trombone, Percussion

Guest musicians:
Tåran Reindal (Leonov) – vocal on #6
Jørgen Bagheera Apeness – vibraphone
Kari Rønnekleiv – violin
Ole-Henrik Moe – Violin, Viola, Cello, Picoletto Violin
Inger Hannisdal – solo violin on #2 and #7

Choir: Margrethe Lunde, Marthe Ødegård Olsen, Sanna Emilie Jensen Karlsrud, Kari Lisa Eide, Astrid Wøllo, Hege Nesset, Julia Nelson, Juliane Lauen Singstad, Linn Gaustadnes Hansen, David Sidi John Bakke, Tobias Føyen, Tor Haakon Bekkevold, Gustav Jørgen Pedersen, Eirik Ørevik Aadland

FFO: MONO, BRUIT≤, This Will Destroy You

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.