Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian progressive rock trio Drott released their debut full-length album »Orcus«, out now via By Norse Music

Bergen, Norway based progressive rock trio Drott featuring Arve Isdal (Enslaved), Ivar Thormodsæter (Ulver) and Matias Monsen has just released their debut full-length album, »Orcus«, on September 24th, 2021 via By Norse Music.

01. The Lure
02. Caerdroia
03. Katabasis
04. The Strait
05. Psychopomp
06. By The Lunar Lake
07. The Marauders
08. Grey Gull
09. Arch Of Gloom
10. Orcus

Courtesy of AISA Music:

Drott release their first full-length studio album »Orcus« on September 24th 2021 via By Norse Music!

“In the realms of the dead dwells Orcus, the punisher of broken oaths in the afterlife. He is Lord in this abode for purification of the souls, the Underworld. This is the katabasis of Drott.

Called by The Lure, Drott is flung into the maze of Caerdroia, descending deeper and closer to the realms of Orcus. As darkness grows, Drott grasps at every beam of light possible in Katabasis, before realizing the true nature of the journey. As Drott faces the sad and gloomy shore called The Strait, contours of The Psychopomp emerge from the shadows, he is the guide of souls in the passage between the living and the dead. So begins the journey into Orcus.

By The Lunar Lake recalls the echoes from the past. A feeling of tranquillity and connection with the living, unaware of the Marauders lurking nearby. Escaping the savage Marauders, Grey Gull ascends, restoring tranquillity and strength before Drott’s final descent through The Arch of Gloom. There awaits Orcus, the judge, punisher and purificator. The Lord of the Underworld.”

Drott is comprised of Arve Isdal (Enslaved), Ivar Thormodsæter (Ulver) and Matias Monsen and hails from Bergen in the west coast of Norway. With their varied musical background ranging from metal and jazz to classical music, they create the genre which can only be described as Drott. Inspired by forces of nature, superstition and spirituality the trio explores light within darkness through their music.

The group, recently established (2020), released their self-titled EP in March 2021 and received great reviews. It established the Drott’s instrumental Progressive Rock sound as a breath of fresh air in the genre! Their first full-length »Orcus« album takes Drott in a new creative and artistic direction. With 10 tracks they dive deeper into sonic, experimental landscapes.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.