Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian progressive rockers Sykofant dropped their self-titled debut album; out now through Sycophantastic Records!

Oslo, Norway based progressive rockers Sykofant stream their self-titled debut album, which just dropped this Friday, May 31st, 2024 through Sycophantastic Records.

Listen to »Sykofant« on all major streaming platforms!

01. Pavement Of Colors
02. Between Air and Water
03. Monuments Of Old
04. Between the Moments
05. Strangers
06. Forgotten Paths

“Sykofant’s music exists in the progressive landscape with influences of pop, jazz, funk, surf, and fusion. The band seeks to push the boundaries of traditional prog rock with their debut, introducing fresh and dynamic elements into well-trodden musical paths. The drums are jazzy, yet forceful. The bass lines heavy, yet funky. The guitar solos virtuosic, yet catchy. The riffs harmonic, yet chaotic. The vocals energetic, yet longing. All of this, and so much more, served to the listener on an auditory silver platter.”

The word sycophant stems from the ancient Greek term for someone who spreads gossip or seeks to maximize personal gains at the expense of others. The band Sykofant is an Oslo, Norway-based prog rock band founded by Emil Moen and Per Semb. Their motivation for undertaking this new project was to explore musical influences, without being limited by genre affiliations or compromises. Melvin Treider and Sindre Haugen were recruited shortly after the first musical drafts had been conceived, upgrading Sykofant from a duo to a band. With Emil on vocals and guitar, Per on guitar, Sindre on bass, and Melvin on drums.

The quartet’s self-titled debut album is set to release May 31, 2024. Produced and mixed at Chaka Kahn Studios, in collaboration with producer Ole Øvstedal, and mastered by Christian Obermayer at Strype Audio. The album, inspired by the sci-fi and psychedelic aesthetics of the 70s, delves into existential themes such as time, alienation, the search for meaning, and humanity’s relationship with nature. This concept album offers a unique 55-minute listening experience without interruptions. It seamlessly transitions from serene ballads to pulsating funk rhythms, traversing desolate canyons, shameless pop choruses, heart-wrenching blues melodies, introspective jazz chaos, and the evocative sounds of spaghetti western. The album presents an intricate musical tapestry where compositional and lyrical themes intertwine to create a cohesive and immersive sound journey.

One can hear obvious inspiration from legends such as Pink Floyd, King Crimson, Cream, Led Zeppelin, Jethro Tull, Yes and Rush, as well as more contemporary influences from bands such as Madrugada, Opeth, Mastodon and Porcupine Tree. Thus, their music can be regarded as something of an homage to those stadium rock bands that the guys, and their parents, grew up listening to.

Sykofant offers groove, distortion, hair, and sweat. A playful blend of crooked beats, pace changes, dissonance and genre mixing, while simultaneously providing the listener with an aftertaste of acoustic simplicity, and discernibility. The band thus evokes associations to another, perhaps lost, time, but at the same time injects a burst of freshness into the well-known soundscape of classic rock music.

Order »Sykofant« now:

Sykofant are: Emil Moen, Melvin Treider, Per Semb, and Sindre Haugen.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.