Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Norwegian psych rockers Kanaan premiere live preformance video for »Amazon«; new album »Downpour« out now via Jansen Records!

Oslo, Norway based instrumental psych rock trio Kanaan premiere live preformance video for »Amazon« taken from their brand new album, »Downpour«, which was just on May 5th, 2023 via Jansen Records.

01. Black Time Fuzz
02. Amazon (feat. Hedvig Mollestad)
03. Downpour
04. Psunspot
05. Orbit
06. Solaris Pt. 1
07. Solaris Pt. 2

Courtesy of Hold Tight PR:

Instrumental stoner psych trio Kanaan have released their new album, »Downpour«, 5th May via Jansen Records.

Stream »Downpour« here!

Kanaan produce so much music that their fuzz pedals are hardly switched off between each practice session. Once again, the young power trio now step out of the rehearsal room, and with them in tow is the brand new album »Downpour«.

It’s not difficult to hear that this is a continuation of their last album, »Earthbound« (2021, Jansen Records). Indeed, many of the ideas on the new album came about when they recorded their previous record in Athletic Sound in Halden. The heaviest songs on the album are a continuation of the idea of ​​”The Great Riff” and the feeling of triumphant ecstasy when one good riff is replaced by another. Bands like Kyuss, MC5, Sleep and Hawkwind are still great sources of inspiration – while Needlepoint and Dungen are also important markers for the more melodic material on the album.

Photo by Gonçalo Carvalho

You truly have to hold tight and not fall out of your chair when Kanaan blast out the monster riffs on songs like »Orbit«, »Solaris pt. 2« and not least »Amazon«, the new single released today, where they are joined by one of Norway’s most kick-ass guitarists, Hedvig Mollestad. All three members of the band have long been fans of Mollestad and her music, and the fact that she is on their record is a dream come true.

The band themselves say they feel that the chemistry and songwriting on this record, to a greater extent, allows them to really own the rock language that they flirted with on »Earthbound«, and it feels like a worthy sequel to a record that has since become very important in the band’s history. It’s hard not to agree with that.

Since Kanaan released their fourth album »Earthbound« on Jansen Records in November 2021, they’ve also managed to release the 27-minute long single »Beyond« and the session album »Diversions Vol. 1 – Softly Through Sunshine«. There are no days off in the calendars of Eskild Myrvoll, Ingvald André Vassbø and Ask Vatn Strøm.

Order »Downpour« here:

Kanaan are:
Ask Vatn Strøm – Guitars, Percussion, Oscillations
Ingvald André Vassbø – Drums, Percussion, Speed Farfisa
Eskild Myrvoll – Bass, Synths, Mellotron, Guitar

Kanaan Live:
May 17: DK Copenhagen, Stengade
May 18: DE Kiel, Schaubude
May 19: DE Berlin, Desertfest Berlin
May 20: DE Munich, Outdoor Opening
May 21: AT Vienna, Chelsea
May 22: HU Budapest, Dürer Kert
May 24: DE Kassel, Goldgrube
May 25: DE Hamburg, Bar 227
May 26: DK Esbjerg, Esbjerg Fuzztival
May 27: SE Malmö, Plan B
Aug 12: PT Moledo, Sonic Blast Festival
Aug 26: BE Rillaar, Down The Hill Festival

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.