Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Pale Wizard Records reimagine Budgie’s »Never Turn Your Back On A Friend« as the third instalment in »50 Years Later« series!

Pale Wizard Records presents the third instalment in »50 Years Later« series, with their take on Budgie’s classic album »Never Turn Your Back On A Friend«, released today, June 30th, 2023 on CD and limited edition vinyl. Alunah, Great Electric Quest, Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell, Sergeant Thunderhoof & many more collaborate on this project.

01. Alunah – Breadfan
02. Firegarden – Baby Please Don’t Go
03. Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell – You Know I’ll Always Love You
04. Regulus – You’re The Biggest Thing Since Powdered Milk
05. Syncolima – In The Grip Of A Tyrefitter’s Hand
06. Great Electric Quest – Riding My Nightmare
07. Sergeant Thunderhoof – Parents
08. La Chinga – Guts (Bonus Track)
09. Low Voltage – Forearm Smash (Bonus Track)
10. Solar Sons – Melt The Ice Away (Bonus Track)

Courtesy of Memphia Music PR:

In June 1973, a little trio from Cardiff in Wales called Budgie released their third album »Never Turn Your Back On A Friend«. Recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios, this album firmly cemented their legacy as a dynamic force to be reckoned within the hard rock movement of the early seventies. With their music being covered by the likes of Van Halen, Iron Maiden and Metallica, it is clear that Budgie have left an enduring mark upon the music world as we know it.

»Never Turn Your Back On A Friend« built upon the hard rocking and progressive elements of their first two records, helped along nicely by the now legendary opening song »Breadfan«.

Tragically in 2022, their lead singer, bassist and founding member Burke Shelley passed away at the age of 71. Now on June 30th 2023, fifty years after its original release, Pale Wizard Records plan to pay tribute to this awesome album.

Pale Wizard Records is a labour of love for its co-founders Tim Hilleard and Dan Flitcroft. In 2021 they released their first »50 Years Later« LP which was a tribute to the classic Alice Cooper album »Killer«. This was followed up with last year’s tribute to Bowie’s incredible »Ziggy Stardust«.

Pale Wizard Records intend for the »50 Years Later« series to continue paying tribute to amazing albums that deserve attention. They enlist a fantastic roster of hard-working bands from the underground heavy rock scene. Some of which they’ve shared the stage with themselves, and others of which they’ve previously admired from afar.

The 7 original songs are brought to life here by some of the absolute best the modern hard rock, stoner and psych underground has to offer. Additionally, Pale Wizard have enlisted some great artists to provide bonus tracks for this release.

The lead single for this album, which premiered on 15th May 2023 is Birmingham’s very own Alunah tackling »Breadfan« which represents a fantastic contemporary, hard rocking version of an all-time classic. Budgie’s music lends itself well to a female led vocal, which is a tribute to the under appreciated high octane voice of Burke Shelley.

Oreder »Never Turn Your Back On A Friend: 50 Years Later« here:

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.