Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Polish atmospheric doom/post-metal band Backbone released their new three-track EP »Voices Of The Void«

Warsaw, Poland based atmospheric doom/post-metal band Backbone is back with their new three-track EP, »Voices Of The Void«, which was just released on October 6th, 2023.

Says the band: “New EP heralding new era in backbone’s music. New line-up, new voices, new approach. A first step towards the second album.

Three songs of solitude and fears. 20 minutes of doom and melancholy at the intersection of forest and cosmos. Though it may seem as one-man project this time, it’s actually the opposite. A consciouss band effort building momentum for a much more collaborative work, which will bear fruit very soon.”

01. Voices Of The Void
02. Fiasco
03. Protoearth

Polish act formed in late 2012 by Mateusz Szymański (ROSK, Krzywdy) and Piotr Kowalczyk (Ulfheobar), inspired by post-metal bands like Cult Of Luna, Blindead and Obscure Spinx. The first performing lineup consisted of: Piotr Kowalczyk (guitars, vocals), Mateusz Szymański (bass guitar), Bartosz Naumann (Trup, Taxi Caveman; vocals), Mateusz Sworakowski (ROSK, Ennoven; guitar), Michał Krupiński (Kapitan Bongo; keyboards) and Michał Kowalski (ex-[wreath]; drums). The band released its first demo »Aetherlost« on November 16, 2013.

After significant lineup changes, backbone released its second demo, »Omega Wave«, on May 10, 2015. The band shared stage with Dirge and Crib 45 on their Polish tours. Kowalczyk and Kowalski recruited new bassist Aleksander Boguszewski (Spinalkhor) and guitarist/singer Piotr Potocki to record »Grey Foundations Of Stone«, released on January 15, 2021. backbone’s debut full-length album »Embracing Dissolution« came out on March 21, 2022. The band parted ways with Potocki after two years and recruited Artur Ściechowski (ex-Leśne Licho, ex-Runika) as guitar player. The newest work of the quartet – EP »Voices Of The Void« – is out now.

Photo by This Is Madness

Music by Piotr Kowalczyk & backbone.
Lyrics by Piotr Kowalczyk.
Recorded between (07.2023 – 09.2023).
Drums recorded & engineered by Jacek Stasiak at Kongo Studio.
Mixed and mastered by Piotr Kowalczyk & his cat.
Cover art & visualization by Piotr Kowalczyk.
Photos by Michał Madness Sobociński.

Backbone is:
Piotr Kowalczyk – Guitars, Vocals, Synths
Artur Ściechowski – Guitars
Aleksander Boguszewski – Bass, Vocals
Michał Kowalski – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.