Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Polish old-school death/doom metal act Wingless premieres new single »Stronger Than Death«; fifth album »Ascension« nears April 26th release on Selfmadegod Records!

Polish death/doom metal band Wingless premieres the second single »Stronger Than Death« taken from their fofthcoming album, »Ascension«, set to release on April 26th, 2024 via Selfmadegod Records.

01. The Ascension (After The Light)
02. Majesty
03. The Soul Raiser
04. From There It’s Always Dark
05. Stronger Than Death
06. As Long As Others Die
07. Only The Graves Will Remain
08. Empty Eyes, There Is No Soul
09. Into The Unknown

Courtesy of Earsplit PR:

“Time for some no bullshit, no nonsense metal.” – MetalSucks

»Stronger Than Death« is the infectious new song from Poland’s old-school death/doom metal outfit Wingless, now playing exclusively at MetalSucks. The song precedes the band’s impending fifth album, »Ascension«, nearing April release on Selfmadegod Records.

Krakow-based Wingless was formed at the beginning of 2012 by a lineup of well-experienced musicians who have performed or are still performing with some other groups being part of the local metal scene. Having been led by guitarist/bassist Grzegorz Luzar since its formation, drummer Piotr Wójcik joined in 2018, and in 2021, longstanding vocalist Olaf Różański was replaced by Michał “Xaay” Loranc (Redemptor). The lineup also expands to include bassist Pascal for live performances.

Wingless has created five full-length releases over the past decade, including three independent albums – »Hatred Is Purity« (2014), »The Blaze Within« (2016), and »Triada« (2018) – before releasing their 2021 album »Nonconform« on Selfmadegod Records, who also now delivers »Ascension«.

While at an early stage of development, the band’s music oscillated more around the cutting edge of modern metal, with the passage of time, their compositional style has gradually shifted towards classic death and doom metal, which is boldly apparent within the first moments of their new album, »Ascension«. Wingless is an ensemble perfectly aware of what and how they want to play, by consistently following their idea of creating death/doom metal, without even avoiding inspirations from metal artists of the 1980s and ’90s. »Ascension« delivers a conglomerate of heaviness, darkness, and a unique atmosphere particularly clearly reflected in the lyrics.

»Ascension« was recorded between June and November 2023 at Studio67 produced by Grzegorz Luzar, mixed and mastered by Dominik Burzym at Studio67, and completed with cover artwork by Rafał Wechterowicz and layout by Michał “Xaay” Loranc.

Luzar states with the »Stronger Than Death« premiere, “Anyone who appreciates catchy riffs and memorable choruses in death metal should familiarize themselves with this track. Sophisticated plays of the rhythm section competing with no less distinctive guitar parts, which may bring to mind such masters as Carcass or Death will make you unable to free yourself from »Stronger Than Death«. If old-school death metal is your cup of tea, you can’t miss it… you will not be disappointed.”

MetalSucks writes, “Time for some no bullshit, no nonsense metal. There’s so much you can’t trust on the internet right now, but don’t worry – the dudes behind Polish death/doom metal act Wingless wouldn’t steer you wrong. They’ve got new album titled »Ascension« coming out later this month and as a result, we’re premiering their latest single, »Stronger Than Death«.”

Listen to Wingless’ »Stronger Than Death« now at MetalSucks RIGHT HERE.

»Ascension« will be released on CD and digital platforms on Selfmadegod Records April 26th. Find preorders at the Selfmadegod label webshop HERE and Bandcamp where »Majesty« is streaming HERE.

Wingless is not shy to admit that playing live is an essential part of their existence. This group can now be proud of having played many gigs in club and festival venues alike. 2018 saw the band’s consummation of onstage performances in Summer festivals, as Wingless was invited to perform a concert as headliner at North-Eastern Open Air in Krnov, Czech Republic and more. The band has shared the stage with Christ Agony, Tortharry, Depresy, Moribund Oblivion, Quo Vadis, Chainsaw, and many more.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.