Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Reeking Aura stream the first single »Seed The Size Of A Spider’s Eye« taken from their upcoming debut album »Blood And Bonemeal«

US death/doom metal band Reeking Aura stream the first single »Seed The Size Of A Spider’s Eye« taken from their upcoming debut album, »Blood And Bonemeal«, out on July 29th, 2022 via Profound Lore Records.

Featuring current and former members of Unearthly Trance, The Howling Wind, Grey Skies Fallen, Buckshot Facelift, Afterbirth, Thaetas, Artificial Brain and more.

From Profound Lore Records:

Reeking Aura is a NY/NJ based death/doom metal band in the old school tradition comprised of known scene veterans from Long Island and NYC. Originally conceived as a project for guitarists Ryan Lipynsky (Unearthly Trance, The Howling Wind) and Rick Habeeb (Grey Skies Fallen, Buckshot Facelift) to share lead duties, additional guitarist Terrell Grannum (Thaetas, Buckshot Facelift), was brought into the fold along with fellow Buckshot Facelift alumni Tom Anderer (Grey Skies Fallen) on bass and William “Big Will” Smith (Afterbirth, ex-Artificial Brain) on vocals in late 2019.

Since releasing their debut three-song EP »Beneath The Canopy Of Compost« on Parasitic Records in 2020, the band has parted ways amicably with drummer and friend Keith Harris (Afterbirth) and welcomed Sam Shereck (Blame God, Stabbed) behind the kit. Though unable to perform live during the pandemic, the group used 2020 and 2021 to write and record their debut full length album »Blood And Bonemeal«. They again chose to work with well-respected producer Colin Marston at his Menegroth the Thousand Caves studio in Queens, NY. Colin handled all stages of production from tracking to mixing and mastering with drums being recorded at Rock N Roll Gas Station studios on Long Island, NY.

»Blood And Bonemeal« is a concept album centered around the caretaker of a desolate agricultural property and that persons struggles with morbid psychosis. Musically, the band sought to further explore the possibilities of a 3-pronged lead guitar team, while the revamped rhythm section held down the bombastic wall of sound.

Featuring artwork by Jon Carchelan, track listing for »Blood And Bonemeal« goes as follows:
01. Remnant Of Obstinate Rank (Flooding Ratholes)
02. Blood And Bonemeal
03. Seed The Size Of A Spider’s Eye
04. Harvesting The Hatchet
05. A Vegetative Mush That Melts Among The Shelves Lined With Meats Of Indeterminate Origin
06. Pyramid Shaped Plow / The Caretaker
07. Grublust

Pre-order »Blood And Bonemeal« on CD/Digital here:

Reeking Aura is:
W. Smith – Vocals
Ryan Lipynsky – Guitar
Rick Habeeb – Guitar
Terrell Grannum – Guitar
Tom Anderer – Bass
Sam Shereck – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.