Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

San Francisco post-metal project Martikor announces sophomore album »Acedia«; first single »Elegy« streaming now!

San Francisco, California based post-metal project Martikor has announced their sophomore album, »Acedia«, which will be released on April 12th, 2024.

Listen to the album’s first single »Elegy« below!

01. Soothing Rattle
02. Elegy
03. Coiled
04. A Tremor In Infinity
05. Born Among Thorns
06. Awake (Bidar)
07. Acedia

Courtesy of C Squared Music:

Martikor announces album »Acedia«, new single »Elegy« out now

Martikor throw open the doors to their dark ethereal sound in the new single »Elegy«. The haunting nature of the music and the band’s accompanying aesthetic in their visual representation provides an immersive multi-faceted experience. The forthcoming album »Acedia« centers around the complexity of human emotion and explores the shadowy corners of the mind. »Acedia« will be unveiled on April 12th, 2024.

About Martikor:
Martikor is a post-metal project, currently based in the bay area, San Francisco. Martikor began as a solo project of Lenn (the band’s main composer), and the first album »Soliloquy«, was released on September 8th, 2023. The band’s musical style is influenced by various genres including post-metal, post-rock, sludge metal, black metal, shoegaze, doom metal, and electronic/ambient textures. Martikor combines dark atmospheric elements with the heaviness that comes with extreme music. It continuously explores experimental sounds and textures, aiming to manifest the intricacies of human emotions through various forms of musical and visual art and utilize art for self-exploration.

In Martikor’s compositions, Lenn uses not only music, but visual art and film as some of the main sources of inspiration. Some musical influences are from the heavy world, like Neurosis, Oathbreaker, Amenra, Sumac, YOB, Absent In Body, The Body, Lingua Ignota, etc. Other musical influences are classical, neoclassical, ambient, electronic, and experimental music.

Lenn – Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Keyboards
Keenan (Felsenmirror) – Drums
Heidie (Glacial Fall) – Vocals
Cello on »Coiled« by Kakophonix
Art by Aaron Bonogofsky
Mastered by Jack Shirley at Atomic Garden Studio

Live line-up:
Lenn – Guitar, Vocals
Moe – Guitar
Glen – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.