Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Sardinian heavy blues rockers King Howl premiere the second single »Home« taken from their upcoming album »Homecoming«

Cagliari, Italy based heavy blues rockers King Howl premiere the second single »Home« taken from their upcoming album, »Homecoming«, scheduled for release on June 9th, 2023 via Electric Valley Records.

King Howl on »Home«: “»Home« is the last track of our new album, »Homecoming«. An angry but hopeful homecoming that concludes an epic in music, a round trip of growth and change, of damnation, redemption, and rebirth. A classic rock song with a blues feeling and the guts of stoner rock, empowered by the Hammond organ.”

01. The Rooster
02. From The Cradle
03. The Train
04. John Henry Days
05. Motorsound
06. Slowly Coming Down
07. Tempted
08. Jupiter
09. The Great Blue Heron
10. Gimme Shelter (Rolling Stones cover)
11. Home

Courtesy of Electric Valley Records:

King Howl from Cagliari, Sardinia, play heavy blues: the raw sounds of the blues are filtered by a multitude of different musical influences coming from stoner rock, 70’s classic rock, funk, and punk in a crossover labored with spontaneity and naturalness, a flow of sounds that never stops.

King Howl attracted conspicuous attention with their first full-length »King Howl Quartet« (2012, Talk About Records/Go Down Records), which imposed a personal sound, pushed by singles like »Morning« and »Drunk«.

Photo by Elena Cabitza

In 2014, the 4-track »Truck Stop EP« (Talk About Records) brought new nuances to King Howl’s trademark, developing a more mature songwriting exposed in songs like »Kerouac« or »Time To Say Goodbye«. In July 2017, King Howl released their last full length called »Rougarou«. 10 tracks of blues fueled – booze-soaked rock’n’roll, another proof of the band’s peculiar sound defined through years on the road, represented by bangers such as »Gone«, »Screaming« and »Demons«. The band toured all of Italy and central Europe several times, often included in the bills of international festivals such as Pietrasonica Festival, Time in Jazz, Duna Jam, Maximum Festival, Crumble Fight Fest, Freiburg Fuzz Fest, Swanflight Festival, Narcao Blues, Aglientu Summer Blues and opening (among others) for Mud Morganfield, Fatso Jetson, Yawning Man, Greenleaf, My Sleeping Karma, Siena Root, Bob Margolin.

King Howl’s new album, titled »Homecoming« will be released by Electric Valley Records on June 16, 2023. The work represents a new chapter in the band’s stylistic universe, spurring King Howl’s trademark sound while mixing it with new compositional and sound influences. A mix of blues, stoner, psychedelia, and classic rock that paints the soundscape of an on-the-road story set in 1960s America. The album was recorded in Sardinia by Roberto Macis and Willy Cuccu and mixed by Nene Baratto and Richard Behrens at Big Snuff Studio in Berlin, a key production hub for international heavy psych (Kadavar, Samsara Blues Experiment, Elder, Wucan). Artwork by Elena Cabitza.

»Homecoming« available in:
• 250x Black Vinyl
• 220x galaxy black/red Vinyl
• 30x Ultra LTD “Road Edition”
• Digital

Pre-order here:

King Howl is:
Diego Pani – Vocals, Harmonica
Marco Antagonista – Guitars
Alessandro Cau – Bass
Alessandro Sedda – Drums

FFO: Canned Heat, Clutch, Kyuss, Queens Of The Stone Age, Black Keys, Son House, Charlie Patton, Fu Manchu, Fatso Jetson, Red Fang

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.