Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Scuzz stream their sophomore album, »Volatile Doom«, available now on vinyl and all streaming platforms

St. Louis, Missouri based instrumental psychedlic doom/sludge trio Scuzz stream their sophomore album, »Volatile Doom«, which was just released on December 18th, 2020 on limited edition splatter vinyl.

»Volatile Doom« is also available now for your listening pleasure on all streaming platforms.

01. Volatile Doom
02. Children Of The New Dawn
03. Wild Trip On A Legless Horse
04. Slugthrower
05. Super Blood Wolf Moon
06. Cathedral Ward

Recorded live at Graveless Studios during the quarantine of 2020.
Mixed and mastered by Michael Girard.
Album artwork created by Jandro Montero.

Hailing from St. Louis, Scuzz is a rowdy instrumental trio that blends punk rock, doom and psychedelic elements into an intoxicating brew of riff-heavy stoner hymns. Sounds like a hell-bent hallucination full of diabolical ghouls speeding through a dystopian landscape at breakneck pace. Thunderous grooves with gritty and technical yet relentlessly brutal passages.

Scuzz was formed in a dank basement in 2016 by seasoned bass player Jandro Montero and Michael Girard, a guitarist returning to his roots on the drums. Montero was greatly influenced by prominent duos such as Death From Above 1979 and Royal Blood, his approach to bass utilizes guitar and bass amps, forging gritty, thunderous grooves. Girard’s signature drum style is sharp and technical yet relentlessly brutal. Donny Thurmon cemented the line up in 2017, with his precise technique and nostalgic approach to lead guitar. Their freshman release, Bong Rips from the Grave, sounds like a hell-bent hallucination full of diabolical ghouls speeding through a dystopian landscape at breakneck pace. Scuzz partnered with fellow St. Louis native Cloy to explore a more pop-oriented style full of dancing synths and dueling leads in their 2018 split, Honeypot. Since then Scuzz has released two in-your-face singles, »Creepin’ While You’re Sleepin’« and »Slugthrower«, in preparation for their sophomore album, »Volatile Doom«. Available on Spotify, iTunes and vinyl December 18th, 2020.

Musicians on »Volatile Doom«:
Donny Thurmon – Guitar
Jandro Montero – Bass
Michael Girard – Drums
Nick Rodriguez – Synth/FX
Brooke Swope – Vocals
Mikey Peterson – Percussion

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.