Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Siberian dark folk duo Nytt Land captivates with new music video for »Rise Of Midgard«; new album »Torem« out this Friday via Napalm Records!

Siberian dark folk duo Nytt Land premiere the third single and music video »Rise Of Midgard« taken from their upcoming album, »Torem«, set to release this Friday, October 6th, 2023 via Napalm Records.

01. Olenmet
02. Nord
03. Risu Raknar
04. Johem Ar
05. Manito
06. Huginn ok Muninn
07. Rise Of Midgard
08. Torem
09. Iavel

Courtesy of All Noir PR:

This Friday, October 6, 2023, Siberian dark folk duo Nytt Land will release their ninth album epos, entitled »Torem«, via Napalm Records.

To celebrate their forthcoming album release, today, the duo has premiered a captivating new music video for their third single, »Rise Of Midgard«! The band reveals that the song is the culmination of the album, which “marks the appearance of the image of birth to the shaman, the uprising from the body of the giant Ymir of the middle world (Midgard) as the highest creation of the Gods in their power” – providing the perfect musical soundtrack!

Photo by Olga Gellert

On »Torem«, the shamanic couple Natasha “Baba Yaga” and Anatoly Pakhalenko invites listeners into a mystic world of ancient percussive instrumentation and mesmerizing vocal spheres. The album, sung in old languages Khanty (Siberian Native Tribe) and Old Norse (Old Icelandic), will take you on a sonic experience and journey of the band’s new trilogy, dedicated to the three worlds in the cosmology of their land.

Nytt Land’s unique sound – highly recommended for fans of Heilung, Wardruna and Runahild – has always been inspired by the sound of Siberian nature. Their musical roots are deeply connected with mythology, historic themes and ancient shamanic culture. In the Finno-Ugric languages of the indigenous peoples of Siberia, »Torem« means “Great Sky” – the Great Sky on which ancestors sit, and where the souls of people and animals are reborn in the form of birds. This is also the place where the shaman makes his first journey to learn the wisdom of the Great Spirit.

»Torem« was produced, recorded and mixed by Nytt Land, with mastering by Anatoly Pakhalenko. With intelligent, captivating storytelling, haunting visuals and atmospheric, ambient yet massive melodies encapsulated by unique throat singing, meditative grooves and an otherworldly spirit of mythology and nature, Nytt Land is about to deliver a surefire highlight of 2023!

Pre-order »Torem« HERE!

»Torem« will be available in the following formats:
• 1CD Digipak
• 1LP Gatefold Clear
• T-Shirt + 1CD Digisleeve
• Digital

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.