Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Silvertomb featuring former Type O Negative members Kenny Hickey and Johnny Kelly share an animated music video for the new single »So True«

Brooklyn, New York based doom metal outfit Silvertomb featuring former Type O Negative members Kenny Hickey in Johnny Kelly share an animated music video for the new single »So True« taken from their debut album, »Edge Of Existence«, released on November 1st, 2019 via SPV – Long Branch Records.

Kenny Hickey comments: “This song was written in desperation and from the gut at a time when I was at one of my lowest points in my alcohol abuse. It’s a basic purging of every trauma, insecurity and anxiety that led up to that point in my life. For the video we tried to capture how a negative self image and a lust for power can be turned outward and onto society to become a destructive force.”

Silvertomb marks the return of Type O Negative guitarist Kenny Hickey and drummer Johnny Kelly in their first new project since the death of frontman Peter Steele in 2010. Formed in 2017, the band consists of Kenny Hickey (ex-Type O Negative, ex-Danzig, ex-Seventh Void, ex-Repulsion) on guitar and vocals, Johnny Kelly (ex-Type O Negative, ex-A Pale Horse Named Death, ex-Black Label Society, ex-Seventh Void, Danzig, Kill Devil Hill) on drums, NYC hardcore veterans Joseph James (ex-Agnostic Front) on guitar and Hank Hell (ex-Seventh Void, Inhuman) on bass, and Aaron Joos (ex-Empyreon) on guitar and keyboards.

The album cover art was conceived by Joe James and Kenny Hickey. The idea was to capture the classic black light, sci-fi poster art popular in the 1970’s. The central skeletal figure on the front cover was modeled after the famous images of the ascension of Christ, with Hickey posing for the image and the artist Rodrigo Canteras sketching the image of the robed skeleton over his proportions.

The title »Edge Of Existence« refers to the albums central character’s existence at the fringes of society-due to his mental fragility and self destructive tendencies.

The concept of »Edge Of Existence« explores Hickey’s personal struggles with addiction, love, and suicide, and the death of his singer and frontman Peter Steele in 2010 and subsequent disbandment of Type O Negative.

01. Insomnia / Sunrise
02. Love You Without No Lies
03. So True
04. Not Your Savior
05. One Of You
06. Right Of Passage / Crossing Over
07. Eulogy / Requiem
08. Sleeping On Nails And Wine
09. Waiting

Produced by Ali J Hassan and Silvertomb.
Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Studios.

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.