Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

SOM unveil Billie Eilish cover »Everything I Wanted« with an accompanying music video

US doom-pop quintet SOM has unveiled Billie Eilish cover »Everything I Wanted« with an accompanying music video.

SOM will also support Katatonia and Sólstafir on their »Twilight Burials« tour through the UK and Europe in 2022.

Courtesy of Hold Tight PR:

SOM – the doom-pop group made up of current and former members of Constants, Junius, and Caspian – have unveiled their cover of Billie Eilish’s »Everything I Wanted« with an accompanying video.

“We’ve been obsessed with this song since it came out,” confesses the band. “It’s incredible how something so tender and gentle can also be a total gut-punch. It’s got these inescapable melodies that wash over you with both awe-inspiring sadness and a grounding feeling of hope. And that makes it a perfect fit with the SOM aesthetic – it’s intoxicating, powerful, and it really spans the emotional gamut. We want to really honour this song as best we can. It felt like all we could do to be closer to this song was to do a version of it that brings out the heaviness that we feel listening to the original.”

SOM’s Billie Eilish cover follows their »Awake« EP, released earlier this year, which combined two exclusive originals with remixes by collaborators Holy Fawn, Hisself (Johnny Dang of O’Brother), U Dye (Marshall Gallagher of Teenage Wrist), and Giuseppe Capolupo (The Devil Wears Prada). SOM’s »Awake« EP is a doom-pop triumph. Its concise compositions balance the gritty riffs of Deftones with airy, Tame Impala-esque vocal lines, just as primed for rock radio success as they are for shoegaze-loving connoisseurs.

SOM will support Katatonia and Sólstafir on their Twilight Burials tour through the UK and Europe. The dates run from January 21st 2022 through February 26th 2022. Full dates below:

SOM – Katatonia, Sólstafir:

21.1.2022 / Tullikamari – Tampere, FI
22.1.2022 / Kulttuuritalo – Helsinki, FI
23.1.2022 / Helitehas – Tallinn, EE
25.1.2022 / Stodola – Warsaw, PL
26.1.2022 / Huxleys – Berlin, DE
27.1.2022 / Longhorn – Stuttgart, DE
28.1.2022 / Batschkapp – Frankfurt, DE
29.1.2022 / Roxy – Prague, CZ
30.1.2022 / Arena – Vienna, AT

1.2.2022 / Akvarium Klub – Budapest, HU
2.2.2022 / Backstage Werk – Munich, DE
3.2.2022 / Komplex 457– Zurich, CH
4.2.2022 / Live Club – Milan, IT
5.2.2022 / Ninkasi Kao – Lyon, FR
7.2.2022 / Kapital – Madrid, ES
8.2.2022 / Apolo – Barcelona, ES
9.2.2022 / Metronum – Toulouse, FR
11.2.2022 / O2 Forum Kentish Town – London, UK
12.2.2022 / O2 Ritz – Manchester, UK
13.2.2022 / The Marble Factory – Bristol, UK
14.2.2022 / Garage – Glasgow, UK
15.2.2022 / KK’s Steelmill – Wolverhampton, UK
17.2.2022 / Rockhal – Luxembourg, LI
18.2.2022 / Patronaat – Haarlem, NL
19.2.2022 / Essigfabrik – Cologne, DE
20.2.2022 / Trianon – Paris, FR
22.2.2022 / Trix – Antwerp, BE
23.2.2022 / Gruenspan – Hamburg, DE
24.2.2022 / Amager Bio – Copenhagen, DK
25.2.2022 / Rockefeller – Oslo, NO
26.2.2022 / Fållan – Stockholm, SE

SOM was founded by Duncan Rich, frontman and former Constants colleague Will Benoit, and Adai founder and now-Caspian drummer Justin Forrest. While touring in support of their debut full-length »The Fall« in 2019, the band added guitarists Mike Repasch-Nieves and Joel M. Reynolds, both formerly of Junius and Driftoff.

The tracks on »Awake« are part of SOM’s ongoing mission to “leave this place better than we found it.” Despite being recorded in quarantine, the EP was mixed by Benoit at his own Radar Studio in Connecticut – New England’s first solar-powered recording facility. While many musicians lumbered in inactivity, SOM used the darkness of recent times to create and heal. »Awake«’s bliss is an insight not only into the kind of harmony the quintet seeks to cultivate in all facets of life, but also the exciting second full-length, slated for an early 2022 release on Pelagic Records.

“SOM specialise in a gauzy, feedback-soaked sound. It’s not far flung from the output of high-volume shoegazers such as Deftones or Hum.” – Revolver

“SOM play the kind of somber, glimmering music that exudes a heavy fog of emotion and introspection around it.” – Kerrang!

SOM are:
Will Benoit – Vocals, Guitars
Justin Forrest – Bass
Mike Repasch-Nieves – Guitars
Joel M. Reynolds – Guitars
Duncan Rich – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.