Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Sonic Flower stream their unreleased second album »Rides Again« in its entirety, due out tomorrow via Heavy Psych Sounds

Japanese psychedelic rockers Sonic Flower stream their second album »Rides Again« in its entirety, which contains unreleased studio recordings from 2005. »Rides Again« will be released tomorrow, January 29th, 2021 via Heavy Psych Sounds.

01. Super Witch
02. Black Sheep
03. Jungle Cruise
04. Captain Frost
05. Stay Away (Meters cover)
06. Quicksand Planet
07. Earthquake (Graham Central Station cover)

All the tracks on this »Rides Again« album are unreleased studio material recorded after 1st album came out in 2005. At that time the band members had some troubles during recording, so after the recording sessions they broke up.

These tracks were sleeping in the vault for more then fifteen years. The music is a mixture of psychedelic groove, rock, funk, and doom metal. For fans of Cactus, Grand Funk Railroad, Mountain, Sir Load Baltimore, Captain Beyond, Meaters, Graham Central Station and Funkadelic.

On the album you can find four original songs plus two cover tracks: »Earthquake« from Graham Central Station and »Stay Away« from Meters.

Sonic Flower were formed as a side project of Church Of Misery in 2001. Tatsu Mikami (bass) and at that time Church’s guitarist Takenori Hoshi (guitar on Church Of Misery’s 2nd album »The Second Coming«), teamed up to play more bluesy & non doomy taste instrumental heavy rock. They were influenced by famous 70’s heavy rock bands like Cactus, Grand Funk Railroad, Groundhogs, Savoy Brown etc.

Soon female guitarist Arisa and drummer Keisuke Fukawa joined the band. In 2003, they released the self-titled debut album »Sonic Flower« on Japanese heavy rock label Leafhound Records. All instrumental bluesy heavy rock and improvised doubleguitar, they got a tons of good response from all over the world. They also played some shows as support for some foreign band’s Japan appearance like Electric Wizard, Bluebird (Amen’s side project), Acid King etc.

In 2005 they went to studio for new recordings. At that time the band has some problems and after the recording quit. So this recordings were long years sleeping in the vault. Totally unreleased studio materials.

In 2018 Tatsu decided to re-form the band. He has already tons of new songs. This time he teamed up with old Church singer and his old friend. A new album is in progress and will be released in 2021.

Sonic Flower is:
Tatsu Mikami – Bass
Takenori Hoshi – Guitar
Arisa – Guitar
Keisuke Fukawa – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.