Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

South Korean sludge metal trio Gawthrop to release »Deterioration« EP on May 26th via Sentient Ruin Laboratories

Seoul, South Korea based sludge metal trio Gawthrop will release their »Deterioration« EP on May 26th, 2023 via Sentient Ruin Laboratories.

The band comments: “It’s finally here! Six tracks from our first two demos (2019’s »Demo« and 2022’s »Jumbo«) available for the first time on vinyl. Re-mastered by Will Killingsworth at Dead Air Studios and released by Sentient Ruin.
Pre-order up now:”

01. Exhaust
02. Guru
03. Blowtorch
04. Rabbit
05. Odynometer
06. Moth

Courtesy of Sentient Ruin Laboratories:

Seoul-based South Korean sludge metal miserists Gawthrop join Sentient Ruin for »Deterioration«, a glorious torment and misery-fucked 12″ vinyl compilation of the band’s first two incredible demo tapes (2019’s »Demo« and 2022’s »Jumbo«). A wretched amplifier worshiping monstrosity of complete antihuman heaviness, the glorious release channels the hate-drenched and bottom-caving megaton doom of legends like Corrupted, Meth Drinker, Nootgrush, HELL, Grief and Thorr’s Hammer into six colossal slabs of pure earth-shaking, downtuned slow-crawling sonic torment that will stomp, crush and flatten the listener to death.

All songs by Gawthrop.
Tracks 1-3 recorded at Studio Dunba, Seoul, May 2019.
Tracks 4-6 recorded at Studio Cogason, Seoul, June 2021.

Mixed by Sunggun Jang.
Re-mastered for Sentient Ruin by Will Killingsworth at Dead Air.
Design and layout by MA.

Gawthrop is:
Hyunwoong – Guitar
Sunggun – Bass, Vocals
Owen – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.