Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Spanish retro hard rockers Saturna announce new album »The Reset« and premiere the first single »Your Whimsical Selfishness«!

Barcelona, Spain based retro hard rockers Saturna premiere new single »Your Whimsical Selfishness« taken from their fifth full-length album, »The Reset«, set to release on December 1st, 2023 via Spinda Records.

»Your Whimsical Selfishness« is available now on all major streaming platforms!

01. Your Whimsical Selfishness
02. The Never Ending Star
03. Smile
04. December’s Dust
05. Into The Sun
06. A Few Words To Say
07. The Sign
08. Made Of Stone
09. On Fire
10. A Way To Reset
11. A National Acrobat (Black Sabbath Live Cover) *
12. Come Together (The Beatles Live Cover) *
13. Five To One (The Doors Live Cover) *
14. Who Knows (Jimi Hendrix Live Cover) *

* digital only bonus track

Courtesy of Spinda Records:

Barcelona hard pysch rockers Saturna are back, and that’s always good news. »The Reset« is the title of their fifth studio album and it’s coming out on December 1, with a first single »Your Whimsical Selfishness« and album pre-order out today.

Let’s be honest: when you receive a private listen to a yet-to-be-released album and you cannot stop listening to it over and over again, you know you’re looking at something very special. Well, something similar has been the feedback received to the email sent by Spinda Records a couple of weeks ago with Saturna’s new studio album. With the years, the band from Barcelona has earned a privileged situation in the Spanish hard and heavy rock scene (together with bands such as Cachemira, Bourbon, Electric Alley or Zålomon Grass) thanks to unbelievable albums and epic live shows.

»The Reset« is their new album and it will be out on December 1 via Spinda Records, in collaboration with Discos Macarras, although the advance single »Your Whimsical Selfishness« is available as from today, at the same time that pre-orders for the album in its physical and digital formats are up and running already) – and keep an eye on the digital edition as it includes live bonus tracks of »A National Acrobat« by Black Sabbath, »Come Together« by The Beatles, »Five To One« by The Doors and »Who knows« by Jimi Hendrix.

It is evident that the band formed in Barcelona back in 2010 had enought time to grow as musicians and to write these new songs – it is with no doubt their best album to date, and with a significant different in comparison to previous ones. Everything sounds more compact and more real.

“[…] We are very happy with the result achieved for this new album. In it you’ll find a mixof 70s hard rock and psychedelia, but also acoustic moments and killer riffs. We really think that this fifth album is our more eclectic one, and we cannot wait for you to give a go […]”

Saturna headed to Analog Drive-in Studios with around 25 demos writen since the release of »Atlantis« back in in 2019, and from there they came out with the 10 songs that were later on mixed by their usual collaborator Dani Pernas, mastered in Doctor Master, and which finally made up »The Reset«, an album whose artwork has been created by Jondix (a regular collaborator of Tool). And all this was happening at the same time that James Vieco released his studio album »Nimaya« in 2020, and his »Unplugged at RockSound« a few months later in 2021; the band participated with the single »Volver a empezar« (their first and only song in Spanish so far) in »Grados. Minutes. Segundos.« boxset by Spinda Records, in addition to publishing a split album with Electric Monolith for Ripple Music US label; and without forgetting Rod’s first solo album and his album with James Vieco and Isaiah Mitchell (Earthless) – both yet to be released.

»The Reset« is coming out on December 1 on digital, compact disc and in a double edition on vinyl, limited to 100 copies in black color and 200 copies in clear green color. Pre-order is available now through Spinda Records website and Bandcamp. Pre-order:

Saturna is:
Rod Tirado: Bass
James Vieco: Vocals, Electric And Acoustic Guitars
Alexandre Sánchez: Electric Guitar, Backing Vocals
Enric Verdaguer: Drums

Additional musician:
Toni del Amo: Keyboards

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.