Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Spirit Adrift’s brand new EP »20 Centuries Gone« feat. covers of Type O Negative, Pantera, Metallica and more out today via Century Media Records

American heavy metal act Spirit Adrift has unleashed their brand new EP »20 Centuries Gone« this Friday, August 19th, 2022 via Century Media Records.

01. Sorcerer’s Fate
02. Mass Formation Psychosis
03. Everything Dies (Type O Negative cover)
04. Hollow (Pantera cover)
05. Escape (Metallica cover)
06. Waiting For An Alibi (Thin Lizzy cover)
07. Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings (ZZ Top cover)
08. Poison Whiskey (Lynyrd Skynyrd cover)

»20 Centuries Gone« is a collection of two new original songs and six cover songs that span the timeline of Spirit Adrift’s most foundational influences, such as Type O Negative, Pantera, Metallica, Thin Lizzy, ZZ Top and Lynyrd Skynyrd. The album features artwork by Brian Mercer (Lamb Of God, High On Fire, Mastodon), and was mixed by Zeuss (Overkill, Crowbar, Municipal Waste).

Order »20 Centuries Gone« now:

Spirit Adrift mastermind Nate Garrett comments: “I always thought it would be a cool experience to record some songs by bands that are foundational to the DNA of Spirit Adrift. These choices are obvious and on the nose to me, but maybe unexpected to the fans. That made the whole thing a lot of fun. A band like Lynyrd Skynyrd might not be the first thing you think of when considering Spirit Adrift’s influences, so the task for me became figuring out how to honor these great songs, but in the distinct Spirit Adrift style. To make the whole thing even more special, I channeled these influences and wrote a couple of new songs to kick things off. There’s a lyric in »Sorcerer’s Fate« that mentions ‘past and future both aligned,’ and that became the concept here. The whole thing is presented in reverse chronological order. That way, you get a sense of where Spirit Adrift is headed, but you’re also taken on a journey back in time through our most fundamental influences. Hope y’all enjoy it!”

Photo by Shane Wesley

Riff Beast US Tour w/ Crowbar:

Aug. 19 – Ft. Walton Beach, FL @ Downtown Music Hall
Aug. 20 – Mobile, AL @ Soul Kitchen
Aug. 21 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Chelsea’s Live
Aug. 23 – Athens, GA @ 40 Watt
Aug. 24 – Virginia Beach, VA @ Elevation 27
Aug. 26 – Albany, NY @ Empire Underground
Aug. 27 – Worcester, MA @ Tattoo The Earth

Spirit Adrift’s touring line-up:
Nate Garrett – Guitar & Vocals
Tom Draper – Guitar
Sonny DeCarlo – Bass
Michael Arellano – Drums

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.