Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Static Abyss unveil a lyric video for new single »Cathedral Of Vomit«; sophomore album »Aborted From Reality« out this Friday via Peaceville Records!

US death/doom metal masters Static Abyss have unveiled a lyric video for the second single »Cathedral Of Vomit« taken from their sophomore album, »Aborted From Reality«, set to release this Friday, June 30th, 2023 via Peaceville Records. Featuring Autopsy members Greg Wilkinson and Chris Reifert.

01. Aborted From Reality
02. Wormskinned
03. Cathedral Of Vomit
04. Cerebral Ghost
05. Mind Tentacles
06. Poisoned Limbs
07. Horizon Of Cremains
08. Crosses And Coffins
09. Unrepentant Mutant Serpent
10. Dehumanized
11. The Static Abyss

Courtesy of Peaceville Records:

The duo of Greg Wilkinson and Chris Reifert reveal the first slab of death doom to come in the form of their new single »Wormskinned« from forthcoming new album »Aborted From Reality« out June 30th on Peaceville Records. Wasting no time following their 2022 Static Abyss debut (»Labyrinth Of Veins«) the band return with their otherworldly Venn diagram of death doom and crust sounds and set their sights once more on their new album »Aborted From Reality«.

The album announcement is also accompanied by the first single to come from the new record, titled »Wormskinned«. Alongside this, an animated lyric video was created by Matthew Vickerstaff to bring the wretched universe of the album’s anxiety inducing milieu into life. The video gives us a look into nightmarish landscape of »Wormskinned«. Musically the song moves between barbaric tremolo picking to surefooted groove with dash of gloom courtesy of their haunting twin guitar harmonies.

Photo by Nancy Reifert

Although a relatively new act itself, Static Abyss comprises of longstanding members of the US metal scene. The band consists of the duo of Greg Wilkinson (guitars/bass) & Chris Reifert (drums/vocals), both members of legendary American masters of sickness Autopsy, with Greg (also of cult act Deathgrave) recently becoming the band’s new permanent bass player for the band’s »Morbidity Triumphant« opus.

»Aborted From Reality« follows swiftly on from Static Abyss’ 2022 debut, »Labyrinth Of Veins«; itself a wild and contagious ride through a nightmarish soundscape. This album presents a stark contrast between a brutal wall of riffs and crawling darkly hypnotic guitar leads burying themselves under the skin, and combines for a sick and unnerving experience through Death Metal combined with Crust and Doom elements. Chris’ unmistakable vocals come spewing from the depths of insanity in this soundtrack to an anxiety-filled dimension, backing up the twisted riffs from Greg’s own cauldron of mental chaos.

»Aborted From Reality« was recorded at Earhammer Studios in Oakland, CA, with engineering, mixing and mastering overseen by Greg himself. Following on from the debut release, cover art appears once again courtesy of All Things Rotten.

The album will be available in multiple formats that include CD, black vinyl, ‘Toxic Green’ Vinyl as well as digitally.

Pre-order here:

“Sometimes becoming the undisputed king or queen of filth, disease and dirt are worth selling your soul for. When you are in that ravenous state of mind, nothing else matters. It happens all the time.”

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.