Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Sumerlands return with sophomore full-length album »Dreamkiller« on September 16th via Relapse Records; watch a music video for the title track

American dark heavy metal act Sumerlands return with their sophomore full-length album, »Dreamkiller«, set to release on September 16th, 2022 on LP/CD/CS/Digital via Relapse Records.

Watch a music video for the first single and title track »Dreamkiller«!

01. Twilight Points The Way
02. Heavens Above
03. Dreamkiller
04. Night Ride
05. Edge Of The Knife
06. Force Of A Storm
07. The Savior’s Lie
08. Death To Mercy

Courtesy of Relapse Records:

Sumerlands have returned from the astral plane with their hotly anticipated new album, »Dreamkiller«. »The Ultimate Sin« inspired haze of the first album has been turbocharged with bigger hooks, Jan Hammer worthy synths, and forays into Badlands gone doom! But although doom crackles at the edges of »Dreamkiller«, this is metal forged with the melodrama of the Scorpions, the emotional heft of Foreigner, and Dokken with an extra dose of depression.

In the driver’s seat is critically acclaimed producer, engineer and guitarist Arthur Rizk, who polished these 8 metallic gems at Philadelphia’s Redwood Studios. Coming off of recent production credits with Kreator, Soulfly, and Show Me The Body, Rizk needs no introduction. His past work behind the boards with Power Trip, Sacred Reich, Ghostemane and many others have blown minds for over a decade, while Sumerlands fulfills his dream of melancholic chug.

The band’s alchemy is on full display as bassist Brad Raub (Eternal Champion, Leather) smirks behind his P-Bass while drummer Justion DeTore (Innumerable Forms, Dream Unending) stares you dead in the face, swinging. New vocalist Brendan Radigan (Magic Circle, Stone Dagger) sings of lost souls in a world gone mad in his confident Graham Bonnet meets Ray Gillen wail.

Rizk and guitarist John Powers keep their “Strats only” policy intact while wheeling in the full Marshall stacks to douse the record in glorious solos (witness the album closing duel of »Death To Mercy«). Galloping lead single »Dreamkiller« is an uptempo tour de force with an instrumental break to make Brian May blush and that festival worthy chorus.

Make no mistake, »Dreamkiller« is a triumph of traditional heavy metal fuel!

»Dreamkiller« First Pressing:
• 144 x Neon Violet, Black and Mustard Yellow Tri Color Pie Slice * Exclusive*
• 241 x Metallic Gold and Neon Violet Merge with Black, Mustard Yellow and Neon Yellow Splatter * Exclusive*
• 536 x Clear with Black Smoke and Canary Yellow and Halloween Orange Splatter * Exclusive*
• 141 x Blue Jay Standard Gram *Decibel Magazine Exclusive*
• 235 x Metallic Gold Standard Gram *Revolver Exclusive*
• 320 x Mustard Yellow Standard Gram *North America Indie Retail Exclusive*
• 3039 x Neon Violet

Sophomore album »Dreamkiller« is out September 16 on LP/CD/CS/Digital via Relapse Records!

Pre-order & watch/listen to »Dreamkiller« at

Sumerlands is:
Brendan Radigan – Vocals
Justin DeTore – Drums
John Powers – Guitar
Brad Raub – Bass
Arthur Rizk – Guitar/Synth

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.