Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Swedish psychedelic heavy rockers Moon Coven premiere new album »Sun King« in full; available this Friday on Ripple Music!

Malmö, Sweden based psychedelic heavy rockers Moon Coven stream their fourth full-length album »Sun King« in its entirety via The Obelisk!

»Sun King« will be released this Friday, August 25th, 2023 through Ripple Music.

01. Wicked Words In Gold They Wrote
02. Seeing Stone
03. Sun King
04. Behold The Serpent
05. Below The Black Grow
06. The Yawning Wild
07. Death Shine Light On Life
08. The Lost Color
09. Guilded Apple

Courtesy of Purple Sage PR:

Malmö-based psychedelic doom and heavy rock purveyors Moon Coven team up with The Obelisk to present their fourth studio album »Sun King« exclusively today, ahead of its official release this August 25th on Ripple Music.

Stream new album »Sun King« at this location
+ watch latest video »Wicked Words In Gold They Wrote«!

“The most definitive statement the band have made to date.” — The Sleeping Shaman

“With strong riffs and exciting atmospheres, this is their strongest record to date.” — Demonic Nights

“Immensely refreshing.” — Distorted Sound Magazine

Two years after unleashing their juggernaut third record and Ripple Music debut »Slumber Wood« upon the world, Moon Coven are now ready to shift the Earth’s axis and mesmerize the masses once again with a fresh set of tunes in the sheerest tradition of modern heavy psychedelia: »Sun King«. Entirely recorded and produced by the band, their fourth studio album is a generous and compelling 9-track propelled by a renewed synergy: fueled up with fuzz for days, the band keeps their myth-laden doom ethos strong, while enhancing their garage-psych facet for a spirited saga full of riff-driven plot twists. »Sun King« was recorded and mixed by David Regn Leban, and mastered by Joona Hassinen. The artwork was created by David Regn Leban.

New album »Sun King« out August 25th on Ripple Music:
US preorder – European preorder – Bandcamp

Moon Coven is a Swedish heavy psychedelic rock band whose deep understanding of the classics and their passion for fuzz make for a distinct and potent sound. Their sound is a fusion of genre staples such as Black Sabbath and Acid King with the progressive magic of Pink Floyd and the psychedelic influences of The Black Angels. Having opened for bands like Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, Monolord, Blues Pills and Jex Thoth, Moon Coven knows what it means to share the stage with the best of the best. It was this same attitude they brought on their three European tours as well as to festivals like Krokbacken, Children of the Sun or Red Smoke Festival in Poland.

After the release of their first two albums »Amanita Kingdom« (2014) and »Moon Coven« (2016), Moon Coven signed a worldwide deal with the revered Californian label Ripple Music in 2021. Born out of this collaboration, their third album »Slumber Wood« was described as “a spotless journey through the dark and foggy underworld of riffadelia” by More Fuzz and “a trace-like exploration of sonic heaviness and emotion-laden doom that won’t be soon forgotten” by Metal Injection. The forceful Swedish foursome is now ready to return with their fourth studio full-length »Sun King«, a mind-expanding and definitely boundary-pushing trip to be released in the summer of 2023 on Ripple Music.

About new album »Sun King«, the band says: “In some ways, »Sun King« was a fresh start for us. After one member had to leave the band and after three stoner/doom albums, we wanted to try other styles as well. To keep producing interesting music, we had to expand our horizons a bit. In our opinion, »Sun King« is our most diverse album. It’s fun and playful sometimes and dark and powerful other times. The only aims we had was to keep the songwriting fun and creative while not feeling too limited. Also we recorded everything ourselves, which meant the recording process became more creative. We had unlimited time to explore without thinking about loss of money.”

Moon Coven is:
David Regn Leban – Guitar and Vocals
Axel Ganhammar – Guitar
Fredrik Dahlqvist – Drums
Pontus Ekberg – Bass

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.