Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

Swiss experimental doom/post-metal act The Land Of The Snow stream their new album »As Within, So Without«, out now via Subsound Records

Zürich, Switzerland based experimental doom/post-metal act The Land Of The Snow stream their brand new album, »As Within, So Without«, which just dropped on September 8th, 2023 via Subsound Records.

01. Sky Burial Ritual
02. Boundless Charnel Grounds
03. Nagas
04. Rotten Skin
05. Ocean’s Ether
06. Thousand Wrong Directions
07. Wrathful Offerings
08. Dancing On Broken Bones
09. As Within, So Without

Courtesy of Metaversus PR:

TLOTS is devoted to massive, metal-oriented soundscapes: a constantly evolving sludgy mix of doom and post-metal (often seasoned with noise and dub elements), which often takes its inspiration from Alpine landscapes and Tibetan traditions.

The new album »As Within, So Without« (2023, Subsound Records) is about what’s inside us, how we interact with the outside, and vice versa. Everything we do and experience through our thoughts, our skin, and our actions, constantly influence our inner selves and our surroundings. It’s a constant exchange and confrontation that drives our lives and pushes us to widen our horizons with each step we take.

»As Within, So Without« was conceived together with Jacopo Pierazzuoli (MoRkObOt, Obake, Deneb) on drums, Eraldo Bernocchi (mix, mastering and additional guitars), and Petulia Mattioli (artwork).

Get »As Within, So Without« on LP / Digital:

Born in 2010, The Land Of The Snow is a project and a state of mind of Joel Gilardini, experimental guitarist and sound designer, based in Zurich (Switzerland). Beside TLOTS, he is also known for his ambient-drone works (released on labels like ZeroK, Unexplained Sounds Group and Endtitles) and is a member of the noise-industrial combos Mulo Muto (with Attila Folklor, CH) and Psychic Drones (with Kazuyuki Kishino, JP).

The first period saw many collaborations and exchanges with different artists, as TLOTS was often intended as an open medium for collective works. This phase saw few releases too: the first EP »Belonging to Nowhere« (2013, Altrisuoni), and the collaborations albums »First Free Bitches Love« (2015, Bloodlust Records) with Sshe Retina Stimulants (aka Paolo Bandera of Italian industrial masters Sigillum S), and »Vuoto/Leere« (2016, Luce Sia) together with Mingle (aka Andrea Gastaldello).

After these collaborations, works started on the first full-length album »Paths Of Chaos« (2017, Taxi Driver): a concept album that revolved around Chaos, seen as a generator of new possibilities, instead of a negative principle. »Paths Of Chaos« guests what would become the TLOTS studio line-up: Jacopo Pierazzuoli on drums (MoRkObOt, Obake, Deneb), Eraldo Bernocchi at the mixing-desk (Sigillum S, Obake, SIMM), and visual artist Petulia Mattioli for the graphic department.

After »Paths Of Chaos«, TLOTS took a kind of a hiatus which was broken by few live appearances and the mini-EP »Of Other Folklores« (2019, self-released).

TLOTS opened for bands such as Hate & Merda (IT), OvO (IT), Dysrhythmia (US), Signorina ?Alos (IT), Bruital Orgasme (BE), Impure Wilhelmina (CH) and Nebra (CH).

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.