Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

The Hawkins releases live video for the track »Stranger In The Next Room« taken from their brand new studio album, »Silence Is A Bomb«

Swedish rockers The Hawkins releases live video for the track »Stranger In The Next Room« taken from their brand new studio album, »Silence Is A Bomb«, dropped on September 4th, 2020 via The Sign Records. »Silence Is A Bomb« captures a fun-loving, positive spirit that’s just what 2020 needs.

01. Silence Is A Bomb
02. Roomer
03. Hilow
04. Stones
05. Mynah
06. Minuette
07. Cut Moon Bleeds
08. Libertine
09. Stranger In The Next Room
10. Black Gold
11. Fisherman Blues
12. All My Birds Are Dead

Courtesy of Dewar PR:

What if Queen and nitroglycerin had a love child? Well, that would be The Hawkins. With a splendid mix of swing, vibrance, and punk’n’roll The Hawkins serve up rock music at its finest. Delivering the melodies of Royal Republic, the ingenuity of Propagandhi, the energy of The Hives, and mixing it all with the colorful soundscape of Imperial State Electric, the Hawkins will make you say, “Damn, that song is stuck in my head” after a single listen. This is a pure musical explosion. The Hawkins is that band you did not know you were longing for.

Born and raised within a two-square-meter Swedish village, the four members have shared their musical journeys since they plucked their first chords. The specific journey of The Hawkins started back in March 2013. Deep inside a huge local industrial park, they have built their own Hawks Nest. It’s within these four walls of carpets and egg cartons where all the blistering creative magic happens.

These four Swedes will take you on a trip through varying emotional landscapes. The contrast between the deeply dark lyrics and the cheerful energy is arguably what makes The Hawkins shine the brightest. Another element that makes their artistry come through is the small but meaningful details – subtle ambient atmospheres, ingenious vocal melodies, slick guitar parts, and groovy rhythmic signatures.

During their first four years, The Hawkins kept the ball rolling by releasing EPs and singles while constantly being on the road, playing everything from small venue gigs to some of the biggest festivals in Scandinavia: Sweden Rock Festival, Metallsvenskan, and Peace & Love among others. They ended the year of 2016 with a huge bang by flying over to Russia to support pop/punk act 4 Aprils on a 10-day tour.

The Hawkins debut album »Ain’t Rock N Roll« (released via GAIN/Sony Music) entered the world with a superb explosion in October 2017. The album included the single »Fuck You All I’m Outta Here«, a powerful song with a strong anti-fascist message which quickly gained momentum in the Swedish rock scene, securing the band’s role as one the most promising bands of the country.

To follow up the successful release of their debut, The Hawkins started the year of 2018 by going on a 22-day tour across Europe with the fellow Swedish band Corroded, rocking stages in Germany, France, Austria, Switzerland, and Denmark. Since then, The Hawkins have kept rocking and rolling, releasing singles, dealing with broken van- incidents in the overwhelming summer heat of eastern Europe, playing countless gigs in and outside of their home country, and even brewing their own beer – the fresh IPA simply entitled »Fuck You All I’m Drinking Beer«.

Now in 2020, The Hawkins have partnered up with The Sign Records. They’re finally back with a new album, entitled »Silence Is A Bomb«, dropping on September 4th, 2020.

The Hawkins are:
Johannes Carlsson – Guitars/Lead Vocals
Mikael Thunborg – Guitars/Backing Vocals
Martin Larsson – Bass/Backing Vocals
Albin Grill – Drums/Backing Vocals

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.