Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

The Same River to release their new album »Weight Of The World« on May 13th via Electric Talon Records and Sliptrick Records

Athens, Greece based heavy rock band The Same River featuring members of Deaf Radio, Cyanna Mercury and One Man Drop will release their new album »Weight Of The World« on May 13th, 2022 via Electric Talon Records and Sliptrick Records.

Pre-order (Electric Talon Records) here:

Watch a visualizer video for the first single and title track »Weight Of The World« below!

The band comments: “»Weight Of The World« is the title song of the album. The main reason is that amalgamate the vibes and the idea of this record in its entity. Lyrically inspired by Sisyphus, both the Greek myth and the homonym philosophical essay by Albert Camus. The absurd (finding meaning in life) is a fundamental human need. During the start of the pandemic in 2020 we found ourselves in a state of inertia and lack of will. »Weight Of The World« was the firstborn child after the lockdown. A boulder we had to push even if we had to see it roll down again. As Camus says: ‘The struggle itself… is enough to fill a man’s heart. One must imagine Sisyphus happy’.”

Courtesy of Electric Talon Records:

The Same River – »Weight Of The World«
Electric Talon Records (CD & Cassette, Americas) / Sliptrick Records (CD & Vinyl, Europe, Digital Distribution Worldwide)

The Same River is a rock band from Athens, Greece.

The Same River was founded by Diamond Pr (Cyanna Mercury) and Dimitris Georgopoulos (Cyanna Mercury, Deaf Radio) in August of 2019. After two months, the band’s lineup was finalized with Fivos Katsifloros joining on the drums (One Man Drop), and Theodore Ntilgeris joining as a second guitarist (The Great Black Shark). From the first day, The Same River focused on writing songs that could deliver the band’s vision of this world; a lust for life and passion for making music.

After a lot of blood, sweat, and tears, The Same River completed their four song debut »Live At The Blackbox«, an EP recorded and mixed live, just to keep a ‘true and raw’ feeling. »Live At The Blackbox« was the world’s first introduction to The Same River back in March of 2020. Despite the difficulties and the lack of live performances, reviews were overwhelmingly positive and gave The Same River the strength and inspiration to complete their first full-length album.

Photos by Jay Chris

The record you are listening to now, »Weight Of The World«, was a ten month struggle that was finalized in June of 2021. An eight song, full length album that embodies the bands love for heavy, rock-influenced psychedelic music. Lyrically, »Weight Of The World« carries the band’s philosophical concerns about the decadence of human society filtered through the fears of an unknown world after this pandemic ends. Heraclitus, Albert Camus, Sigmund Freud and many mythological aspects of our heritage (with a deeper meaning), such as Sisyphus and Prometheus, blend in a way and fulfills in rhymes what our vision for this world is about; solidarity, peace and understanding.

01. Intro \\ Crossing The Rubicon
02. The Oath Of A Fire Bringer
03. Voyage \\ The Great Sea
04. Weight Of The World
05. The Bounds Of A Fire Bringer
06. Remains Of The Holy
07. The Same River
08. We The People \\ No Friends, But The Mountains
09. Blow Your Trumpet (Digital Bonus Track)

»Weight Of The World« credits:

Music by The Same River.
Lyrics by Diamond Pr.
Produced by Diamond Pr.
Co-produced by Nikos Trialonis.
Art direction, illustration and animation by Dimitrios Schoinarakis (Reference Artwork by Maurilio Barreto).
Mixed by Nikos Trialonis at Goblin’s Lair Studio Heraklion Crete, GR.
Mastered by Yiannis Christodoulatos and Dimitris Papadimitriou at Sweetspot Productions Athens, GR.
Recorded by George Filikozis (Bass Guitar, Drums) at Bombing the Avenue Studio Athens, GR; Manos Koutsakis (Guitars, Synths, Percussions) at Diagogi Kosmia Studio Athens, GR; Diamond Pr (Vocals) at House of Stone Studio Athens, GR.

The Same River are:
Diamond Pr – Vocals, Guitars, Synths
Theodore Ntilgeris – Guitars
Dimitris Georgopoulos – Bass
Fivos Katsifloros – Drums

FFO: Queens Of The Stone Age, Sleep, Uncle Acid, Black Sabbath, DIIV, Lasse Rienstroem

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.