Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

UK blackened death/doom metal band Strigoi premiere »Bathed In A Black Sun« EP ahead of its release this Friday via Season Of Mist!

UK blackened death/doom metal band Strigoi premiere their new five-track EP »Bathed In A Black Sun« ahead of its release this Friday, November 3rd, 2023 via Season Of Mist. »Bathed In A Black Sun« is a slimy companion EP to Strigoi’s crusty and spiteful second album »Viscera«.

01. Bathed In A Black Sun
02. The Grotesque
03. Beautiful Stigmata
04. A Spear Of Perfect Grief
05. The Construct Of Misery

Courtesy of Season Of Mist:

Strigoi were already plenty unsettling on their debut album. After all, this band includes current and former members of Paradise Lose, Extreme Noise Terror, Satyricon and Carcass. But the UK death-doom band’s follow-up pushed their grinding asphyxiations to such vile extremes, that it produced an abundance of putridity.

»Bathed In A Black Sun« includes four unreleased or exclusive songs from the recording sessions for their last album »Viscera«, which was mastered by Brad Boatright and mixed by Kurt Ballou. The title track oozes pure, unadorned filth, slimed with sludge riffs and a crusty drum groove, while other songs spew punkish riffs atop leather-spiked d-beats.

Photo by Hal Sinden

“»Bathed In A Black Sun« is part bridge, part exorcism,” writes No Clean Singing. “Strigoi will always have that big pit-riff bubbling up just inside them and they have to unleash it somehow.”

Strigoi’s terrifying new EP comes out this Friday, November 3. But seeing as it’s Halloween, they’re treating our blackened sweet tooths with an early taste of all five tracks.

“We’ve been dying to release this EP as a companion to »Viscera«,” says the band’s bassist Chris Casket. “Enjoy these extra cuts of raging spite and cold despair.”


Recorded at Oregon Studios.
Produced and engineered by Jamie Gomez and Strigoi.
Additional recording and production by Gregor Mackintosh at Black Planet Studios.
Mixed by Kurt Ballou at Godcity Studios.
Mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.
Cover artwork by Brian Sheehan / Legerdemain Art.

Greg Mackintosh – Vocals and Guitar
Chris Casket – Bass
Guido Zima – Drums
Ben Ash – Guitar

FFO: Vallenfyre, Paradise Lost, Triptykon

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.