Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

UK doom metal giants Godthrymm release a music video for the new exclusive stand-alone single »Chasms«

UK doom metal giants Godthrymm have released a music video for the new exclusive stand-alone single »Chasms«.

Stream/purchase digital single here:

Music and lyrics by Godthrymm.
Recorded by Andy Hawkins, Hamish Glencross and Bob Crolla.
Mixed by Andy Hawkins at The Nave Recording Studio.
Mastered by Mark Midgley at Northern Mastering Co.
Video created and edited by Andy Green.

The band will be entering the studio next week to begin recording their follow-up to »Reflections«, one that will be another monumental testament of colossal UK doom metal.

From Profound Lore Records:

Godthrymm was formed in 2017 by vocalist/guitarist Hamish Glencross (ex-My Dying Bride/Vallenfyre/Solstice) and sees the respected UK metal luminary return to his doom metal roots, creating the music he was known to help forge with Solstice (on the legendary »New Dark Age« album) and especially with the heralded My Dying Bride from the 2000 – 2014 time period. Further adding to the Godthrymm pedigree of doom, joining Glencross is ex-My Dying Bride/Anathema drummer Shaun Taylor-Steels who, after some slight lineup refining (following the band’s »A Grand Reclamation« debut EP), became the core of Godthrymm with Glengross as the two would end up recording the colossal Godthrymm debut album »Reflections« (the duo would add bassist Bob Crolla following the recording of »Reflections« making Godthrymm a true power trio of doom), released on February 14th, 2020.

With their debut album »Reflections«, Godthrymm have unleashed a colossal slab of heavy, mournful, yet pounding traditional doom that harks back to the classic era of ‘90s UK doom/Peaceville Records. A massive step up from the debut EP, »Reflections« is the result of Glencross taking Godthrymm further into the realm of doom into more darker, melancholic, and towering realms. Through Glencross’ soaring passionate vocals complimenting his powerful riffs along with Steels’ thunderous percussion giving the Godthrymm rhythm section that massive glorious tone, »Reflections« is a testament to the glory days of UK doom while making its statement as a new force of modern day doom metal to behold.

Godthrymm is:
Hamish Glencross – Vocals and Guitars
Shaun “Winter” Taylor-Steels – Drums
“Sasquatch” Bob Crolla – Bass
Catherine Glencross – Keyboards

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.