Doomed Nation

Sounds For The Lost Generation

UK one-man psyche synthwave doom rock project Morlock announce his sophomore album »The Outcasts«

UK one-man psyche synthwave doom rock project Morlock by Andrew Prestidge announce his sophomore album, »The Outcasts«, set to release this summer via Cineploit Records.

Andrew Prestidge is the touring drummer of the doom metal band Warning as well as 40 Watt Sun, he recorded and toured with The Oath, Lucifer and Angel Witch and even played drums on »Legalise Drugs And Murder« by Electric Wizard.

Watch a brand new promo video for the track »Flower Fiends«!

01. Vulpine Megaliths
02. Flower Fiends
03. Host Roots
04. The Prodigal
05. The Outcasts
06. Dream Harvesters
07. Geologic Crustaceans

Courtesy of Cineploit Records:

Morlock’s »The Outcasts«, the sophomore album of cosmic explorations by synthesist and drummer Andrew Prestidge (Zoltan, Warning, The Osiris Club), is a deceptively accessible fusion of post-punk, electro-pop, Moog drones and Italian prog soundtracks. Blending melody and experimentation into a shifting patchwork of retro-futuristic splendour, these seemingly contradictory elements battle it out in a dream landscape of the ancient and the alien.

The influences on the record are vast and varied. As a long-time fan of electronic music, Andrew’s compositions can invoke anyone from Tubeway Army, the BBC Radiophonic Workshop or John Carpenter to more abrasive acts such as Killing Joke, The Chameleons or Cardiacs. And that’s before we get to Queen’s soundtrack to Flash Gordon…

In contrast to 2019’s debut Morlock release, »Ancient Paths«, rhythm and riffage is to the fore throughout the course of these seven epic tunes. Much more a widescreen version of the band and a collaborative affair, the recording took place in London’s celebrated Holy Mountain studios in the spring of 2021. Mixed in Switzerland by Misha Hering (Memnon SA), who also co-writes and adds synthesizers to a number of tracks, the production veers between the pastoral and the urban, from the roots of the Earth to the measureless depths of outer space.

The “Outcasts” concept began with Andrew developing creature designs for an imaginary graphic novel. The eventual Lovecraft-inspired illustrations are accompanied by a conceptual story-cycle originating from the mind of science fiction author Matt Thompson, all produced in a lavish and limited vinyl edition. A heavyweight pressing with grooves deep enough – just – to do the music full justice, »The Outcasts« is truly an object to savour.

Morlock’s »The Outcasts« 180g marbled coloured (lim. Ed. 250 copies) or black vinyl (lim. Ed. 150 copies) and CD edition out June/July 2022. Release date and presale soon!

Watch out for forthcoming live action with a specially-expanded line-up!

Bojan Bidovc // music enthusiast, promoter, misanthrop and sometimes a journalist as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.